Salisbury Press

Saturday, May 30, 2020


Wednesday, November 27, 2013 by PAUL WILLISTEIN in Local News

Allentown Public Library tax backed; Minger, Brown, Seagreaves re-elected

Salisbury Township residents voted overwhelming to retain the library tax, and also voted to re-elect two Salisbury Township commissioners and the township tax collector in the Nov. 5 municipal election.

The referendum to continue a tax to support the Allentown Public Library won with 1,287 votes, or 67 percent, in favor, and 624 votes, or 33 percent, against, of 1,911 votes cast.

Linda J. Minger, a Republican running unopposed as Salisbury Township tax collector, was the big vote-getter at township polls, receiving 2,084 votes.

Commissioner President James A. Brown, Republican, received 419 votes, or 60 percent of votes cast, re-elected for a third term to represent Ward 4 on the west side of the township.

Brown has served for 10 years, including two years filing the term of recenty re-elected State Rep. Joseph Emrick, R-137th, who had moved to Upper Nazareth Township. Brown was then re-elected for two four-year terms.

"I proudly served 10 years, and am happy to do what I can for Salisbury. I'm looking forward to another four years," Brown said.

Commissioner James Seagreaves, Democrat, received 274 votes, or 40 percent of votes cast, to again represent Ward 2 on the township's east side. Seagreaves is the board's President Pro-Tempore. It's Seagreaves' second four-year term.

"It was a fast, pleasurable, learning four years. I enjoy working for the township residents and working with the township," Seagreaves said.

The commissioners are expected to hold their reorganization meeting 7 p.m. Jan. 6, 2014 in the municipal building meeting room when Brown and Seagreaves will be sworn in. The president, vice president and president pro tempore will then be chosen.

Commissioners serve four-year terms, elected in two staggered election cycles. Commissioners for Wards 1, 3 and 5 are elected during the same cycle, as are commissioners for Wards 2 and 4.

Marion W. Gewartowski, Republican, was elected Judge of Election, receiving 176 votes, or 54 percent of votes cast.

Salisbury Township Commissioner Debra Brinton, Republican, was elected Judge of Election, receiving 147 votes, or 46 percent of votes cast.

For Inspector of Election, Linda J. Unger, Democrat, received 228 votes, or 25 percent; Phyllis T. Bryan, Republican, received 174 votes, or 19 percent, Isabel T. Nolan, Democrat, received 171 votes, or 19 percent; Carolyn L. Miller received 136 votes, or 15 percent, David L. Lutz, Democrat, received 108 votes, or 12 percent; and Eileen A. Lutz, Republican, received 84 votes, or 9 percent.

Results are unofficial until certified by the Lehigh County Board of Electors.