Salisbury Press

Sunday, August 20, 2017


Thursday, July 20, 2017 by PAUL WILLISTEIN in Local News

Property line no walk in the park

The Salisbury Township Planning Commission has approved giving a portion of land to a property owner adjacent to Lindberg Park because of a mix-up before the park was there.

Planners voted 6-1, with one abstention at the July 11 meeting, to approve the Minor Subdivision and Lot Consolidation Plan between the owner of 2860 Lindberg Ave. and Salisbury Township.

At the meeting, planners also discussed the township Subdivision And Land Development Plan.

Two Salisbury Scouts earn Eagle rank

Thursday, July 13, 2017 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Local News

Jacob Glenister and Zackary Reinhart received the rank of Eagle Scout recently at St. Timothy Evangelical Lutheran Church. The two Scouts are members of Boy Scout Troop 5, sponsored by St. Timothy.

Jacob Glenister, the son of Rebecca and Michael Glenister, started in Cub Scouts with Pack 439, eventually transferring to Pack 5 where he completed all the Cub Scout ranks and earned the Arrow of Light. He joined Troop 5 with several of his Western Salisbury Elementary School classmates to continue his Scouting career.

Former Macungie postmaster turns 104

Thursday, July 13, 2017 by BEVERLY SPRINGER in Local News

On July 3, Allen Fink celebrated his 104th birthday. His independent living facility provided the venue for his children, nieces, nephews and multiple relatives and friends to gather and wish him well.

The eldest child of Henry and Edna Fink, he was born in a tenant farmer’s house on his grandfather’s farm in Salisbury Township. The family rapidly expanded to include his brothers Martin, Myron, Edward and sister Minerva.

SALISBURY TOWNSHIP BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS Batting cage, automotive dealers projects, approved

Thursday, July 13, 2017 by PAUL WILLISTEIN in Local News

The Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners has said “Batter Up!” to the plan by the township Recreation Advisory Committee for placement of the Franko Farm Park batting cage.

Commissioners voted unanimously 5-0 to approve the request from the Salisbury Youth Association to install a temporary batting cage at Franko Park along the third base line, including necessary help from the township Department of Public Works.


Thursday, July 6, 2017 by CHRISTOPHER DRYFOOS in Local News

Warm handoff program seeks to aid addicted

Physician General of Pennsylvania Dr. Rachel Levine gave a press conference at Lehigh Valley Hospital June 12 on new programs which aim at getting drug addicted patients – notably, opioid and heroin abusers – the care they need. Several representatives from the hospital and other local organizations were on hand to give insight on their efforts.