Salisbury Press

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Editor’s View

Wednesday, October 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

National Fire Prevention Week: ‘Not Every Hero Wears a Cape: Plan and Practice Your Escape.’

I cannot think of a better week than this to emphasize the need for volunteer firefighters in Pennsylvania — and especially in the communities in which we live.

National Fire Prevention Week, celebrated this year Oct. 6-12, was established to commemorate the Great Chicago Fire of 1871, in which more than 250 people died, some 100,000 were left homeless and more than 17,400 buildings burned.

The fire began Oct. 8 when, according to legend, Mrs. Catherine O’Leary’s cow kicked over an oil lamp. The blaze continued well into the next day.

NATIONAL NEWSPAPER WEEK

Wednesday, October 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Local news starts with us

Newspapers have been the foundation of real news for over 300 years. While the delivery of the product has transitioned from black ink on newsprint, to the Internet, to smartphone applications and social media outlets, no other industry is as firmly rooted in the foundation of our nation, or our communities, as the free press.

Newspapers in Pennsylvania play a vital role in your everyday life.

Election Policy

Wednesday, October 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Election Policy

Wednesday, September 25, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, September 25, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lunch shaming has no place in school

There is a new trend these days across the United States called lunch shaming, where unpaid lunch bills in school districts are making the news.

In July, the Wyoming Valley West School District, in Luzerne County, threatened to have children placed in foster care if their parents didn’t pay an outstanding lunch debt of $22,476.

Todd Carmichael, the CEO and co-founder of La Colombe Coffee Roasters, offered to pay the debt. The school board president refused.

Carmichael sent a letter to the district.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, September 25, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Vote ‘yes’ on victims’ rights guarantees

We’ve watched enough crime dramas to know that those accused of a crime must be given their “Miranda warnings.”

“You have the right to remain silent; whatever you say can and will be used against you in a court of law …” etc.

Critics often complain that victims and their families are accorded no similar protections, but that, of course, is an oversimplification.

Nonetheless, when you and other voters go to the polls in Pennsylvania on Nov. 5, you will be asked to approve a constitutional amendment that spells out the rights of crime victims.

Election Policy

Thursday, September 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, September 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Won’t you be my neighbor?

Forty-two years ago Sept. 18, a remarkable photo was taken.

On Sept. 18, 1977, Voyager 1 captured the Earth and the moon in the same photo shot by a spacecraft from deep space.

Voyager 1, launched 13 days earlier from Cape Canaveral, Fla., was en route to the outer reaches of the solar system with the particular mission of glimpsing Jupiter and Saturn, according to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, also known as NASA.

This was not the first shot of the neighboring pair.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, September 11, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Fighting for the 9/11 first responders and volunteers

As we remember the horrific events from Sept. 11, 2001, we cannot ignore the many first responders and volunteers who ran toward the twin towers of the World Trade Center to help those in need.

These heroes have been in the news recently, fighting for the compensation fund to continue to care for those facing serious medical issues as a result of the survivor search and debris removal efforts.

Due to recent legislation, these first responders will get the help they need.