Salisbury Press

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Another view

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Back to school time is upon us once again

It seems as if the end of the school year was just last week. But here we are, Aug. 15, and many schools begin classes Aug. 27.

Since August is when students return to school, this month is National Back to School Month.

According to nationaldaycalendar.com, “National Back to School Month has been observed since the 1960s.

Editor’s View

Thursday, August 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Is it really worth driving around those barricades?

As the rain continued to fall Friday night and our local waterways rose ever higher, emergency personnel sounded the alarm, alerting residents a flash flood warning was in effect.

Cue the thunder, lightning and blinding downpours.

All phones in my house began to blare with the emergency notification, a signal not easily ignored. Police and fire departments posted messages on social media to tell residents of road closings due to creeks and streams spilling over their banks.

In the Lehigh Valley, 3-plus inches of rain had fallen from noon Friday to 8 a.m. Saturday.

Children sometimes have to make mistakes to learn from them

Thursday, August 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Over the years, I have written about how my three (now adult) children have vacillated between thinking their parents are bumbling idiots to believing that we are seers full of enlightenment and wisdom. As I move from being the parent to the consultant/coach for our youngest child, my ideas or suggestions are often met with “Yes, mother! I know that, mother!” Clearly, we are currently in bumbling idiot mode.

Another view

Tuesday, July 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Share a beer with a friend on International Beer Day

“What care I how time advances? I am drinking ale today.” -Edgar Allan Poe

Beer lovers around the world are looking forward to a different kind of holiday. International Beer Day will be celebrated Aug. 3 this year.

According to the official International Beer Day website, this event has taken place the first Friday in August since its inception in 2007 and is celebrated in 200 cities globally, 80 countries and six continents. The day is intended to “unite the world through beer.”

Editor’s View

Thursday, July 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The last straw

National and local news reports over the last several weeks have focused on efforts by environmentalists to ban plastic straws, which endanger marine life once they make their way to the oceans and apparently live on forever in landfills.

McDonald’s began the movement, announcing June 4 that biodegradable paper straws would be used throughout the United Kingdom by 2019.

The company also said it would begin testing plastic straw alternatives in the United States later this year.

McDonald’s CEO Steve Easterbrook spoke with CNBC’s “Squawk on the Street” in early June.

Happiness grows in my garden

Thursday, July 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Since childhood I have loved to play in the dirt. Mud pies were my specialty back then.

So one can only imagine how excited I am each spring to get out in the yard and start planning and planting.

This season threw me a curveball, however.

From overuse and advancing age, I managed to tear the meniscus in my left knee.

Pain made bending and kneeling, not to mention walking and standing, almost unbearable.

Guest View

Thursday, July 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Fathers matter in the lives of their children

All research begins with someone asking the question, “I wonder ...?” That is what my research design instructor told us on the first day of class.

I have a number of things that make me go, “Huh ...!” but at the behest of my family, who had to endure me going through graduate school a few years ago, I decided to spare them and not to embark upon a Ph.D.

LETTER to the editor

Thursday, July 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Curbing canine carrier attacks

Dear Editor:

The employees of the Easton and Bethlehem Post Offices are strategizing to find ways to reduce dog attacks on carriers. We are engaging in a project that includes education and information for employees, and dog owner participation in our communities.

When you consider that last year, eight postal employees were victims of dog attacks in our local post offices (Easton, Allentown, Bethlehem, Coopersburg and Macungie), and we have had a few more attacks this year, you can understand our concern.