Salisbury Press

Thursday, December 14, 2017

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, December 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Casting a not-so-wide network

Last week, when headlines announced devastating news such as sexual harassment and misconduct scandals, wildfires in California, ongoing problems in North Korea, train crashes in Germany and other events, a front page story in the “Wall Street Journal” offered readers a moment for surprise: details of the Rolodex of one-percenter David Rockefeller.

Another view

Thursday, December 7, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Whichever holiday you celebrate, make it a good one

On Oct. 13 during the Values Voter Summit in Washington, President Donald Trump said, “We’re saying ‘Merry Christmas’ again.”

I didn’t realize the White House and Americans stopped saying this. We didn’t actually. At our workplaces, at our churches, at our family and friends gatherings and even at department stores, we still say “Merry Christmas.”

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, December 7, 2017 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

The perils of cancer treatment

My strong advice to anyone going through chemotherapy treatment or about to is listen to professional advice and heed any research you may uncover.

I finished my second chemo treatment Oct. 11. I personally didn’t think the treatment varied much from the first until a few days later. Rather than try to be as active as I possibly could, much of what I did involved sleeping a great deal. The excess sleep ultimately led to a short hospital stay — luckily, a stay of only a few days.

ON THE HOMEFRONT

Thursday, December 7, 2017 by DENISE CONTINENZA PENN STATE EXTENSION in Opinion

Resilience: the art of bouncing back

Sometimes I ask my adult children questions and really fear the answers. There is something about that kind of suspense, I suppose. So I did it again this summer when we were all together.

“What was the worst thing I ever did as a parent?” I asked them.

They responded all too quickly. Worse than that, all three of them had the same answer.

“You sent us to that after-school program when all our friends were able to go home,” they declared almost in unison.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Tuesday, November 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Children can remind us of the importance of being thankful

When you want to see the good through the bad, when you want to truly experience positivity in a world of judgment and negativity, always talk to a child.

Kids have this amazing sense of optimism. Their untainted outlook on life can be a refreshing reminder that there is good in this world.

another view

Wednesday, November 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Snapchat — Fun or dangerous?

Snapchat is a quickly growing social media platform which allows people to send pictures or short videos, called snaps, to friends. The most popular feature is that these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear. It’s great for people like me who insist their pets are the cutest but don’t want to inundate Facebook and Instagram with cat pictures for fear of being a bother. Instead, I just take a quick photo of my kittens, send it to a few interested friends and then it’s gone.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Friday, November 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The gift that keeps giving must be the right fit

If you have ever loved and lost a pet, you will understand my family’s hesitation in getting another pet.

I’ve written about my pets before — a 16-1/2-year-old Old English Sheepdog and an indoor shelter cat we had for more than 16 years. Both pets died recently within six months of each other. We have been in mourning.

My editorials in the past have been about understanding the responsibilities of pet ownership before acquiring a pet for yourself or as a gift for someone else.

Another View

Thursday, November 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Thank a veteran and his or her family members, too

President Donald Trump recently proclaimed November 2017 as National Veterans and Military Families Month.

Veterans Day, Nov. 11, is the time American people nationally thank veterans for their courage, sacrifices and years of service.

Trump’s proclamation begins: “During National Veterans and Military Families Month, we honor the significant contributions made by American service members, their families and their loved ones.