Salisbury Press

Saturday, June 6, 2020

Another View

Thursday, June 4, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Racism, unequal rights need to stop

As America is trying to reopen from the coronavirus pandemic, a new battle has erupted over the death of 46-year-old George Floyd, a black man from Minneapolis.

Last week, I watched in horror on social media and news broadcasts as former Minneapolis police officer Derek Chauvin, 44, placed his knee on Floyd’s neck for 8 minutes, 56 seconds as Floyd cried out, “I can’t breathe,” and asked for his mother before taking his last breath and dying.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Thursday, June 4, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘To close Western Salisbury ... endangers our children’

To the Editor:

For the past several months, the closure of Western Salisbury Elementary has been promoted by the district superintendent, debated by the school board and opposed by citizens of the township.

The discussion has been significantly curtailed by a global pandemic — a pandemic which also produces an obvious danger to decreasing available space and overcrowding the remaining schools in the district.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Sunday, May 31, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Video conferencing during the pandemic can be most entertaining

I haven’t talked with one person who has not experienced some sort of stress or anxiety during this COVID-19 pandemic.

However, if you can find something to laugh about, it does help keep your spirits up.

Many of the funniest and most embarrassing situations have happened during virtual meetings using Zoom or another telephone or video conferencing platform. Zoom is a free app that can be downloaded on a smartphone, iPad or computer and allows the user to see the person, or persons, they are talking to.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, May 21, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Stay-at-home is not always safe at home

As the political battles continue about reopening municipalities, counties, states and the nation in the face of the spread of COVID-19, other confrontations are on the rise closer to home.

According to the United Nations Population Fund in data made available in late April, the COVID-19 pandemic is expected to contribute to “an estimated 2 million additional instances of intimate partner violence in 2020-2021” worldwide.

election Policy

Thursday, May 21, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

Gov. Tom Wolf signed Senate Bill 422 March 27, postponing the primary election to June 2 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As we approach the June 2 primary election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office or regarding those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the April 29 edition.

Salisbury Township community comes together

Thursday, May 21, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

As the longest three months our lives drag on and we limp into the summertime, I’m left wondering what lies ahead. Coinciding with this pandemic has been the uncertainty surrounding the current and future state of Salisbury Township’s school system. What will our teachers and students return to next fall. How will they handle so much change?

School districts should make distance learning part of offering

Thursday, May 21, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I still believe in the power of the press. I am often surprised that people will say to me “I saw it in The Press!” or “Someone said The Press said....”

It is not too early for the Lehigh Valley Press to begin to follow at least two issues related to public school programming and the COVID-19 virus. Both relate to cyber charter schools.

another view

Thursday, May 21, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Grim reaper stalks nursing homes

The state Health Department is coming under increased criticism for its bungled handling to the COVID-19 pandemic at nursing homes. Nearly 70 percent of all deaths in the state attributed to the coronavirus have occurred at these and other elder-care facilities.

Legislators and state Attorney General Josh Shapiro are weighing in, too. The situation has become so alarming that Shapiro last week announced his office has opened criminal investigations into several long-term facilities, although he did not indicate which are involved.