Salisbury Press

Saturday, October 20, 2018

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Retain 100 acres of the Weiner Tract for a park

To the Editor:

The commissioners of Lower Macungie Township should be commended for purchasing the Wiener Tract on Sauerkraut Lane and Brookside Road for farming.

Unfortunately our commissioners plan to sell easements on the entire tract to defray part of the purchase price.

Selling farmland easements prohibits all use except farming. A better option which I suggested to our commissioners last month, is to retain 100 acres along the stream for a park at a later date. This land would be contiguous with the present township recreational land.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the end of bar soap and more

This is not an obituary.

Nor is it a political commentary.

This Editor’s View mourns the death of things I and many others grew up with, including bar soap and top sheets.

Yes, that’s right. According to a recent news article, Generation Z individuals born between 1995 and 2010 and millennials born between 1981 and 1996 are changing the world as we know it — for those individuals have stated they no longer use bar soap, only liquid soap.

And, they don’t use top sheets.

Top sheets? Will a sheet set soon only come with a fitted sheet and pillowcases?

ELECTION POLICY

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 6 General Election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by or about those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the Oct. 10 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

ELECTION POLICY

Thursday, October 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 6 General Election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by or about those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 10 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

National Newspaper Week, Oct. 7-13

Thursday, October 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘Life is full of emotion. We cover the journey.’

Newspapers explore many of the topics that affect your senses.

The stories we report may get your blood rushing, wrinkle your brow, inspire you to call a friend about an event or simply entice you to relax and read about your favorite team that pulled out a victory destined to be a loss.

We cover the hard stuff. As curious watchdogs who investigate and report the truth, we are sometimes taken down any number of roads that may not be very popular.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, October 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘Tis the season for flu prevention

It’s October and that means, for me at least, it is time for a flu shot.

On the record, I don’t like getting flu shots, although the anticipation really is the worst part. The shot itself is over in moments. The paperwork takes longer than the physical needle stick.

However, the flu shot is better than being sick, homemade chicken noodle soup notwithstanding.

And this year the shot may be more important than ever.

Another view

Thursday, October 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A voice for the millions

Many Americans tuned in Sept. 27 to live coverage of the testimony hearing of Dr. Christine Blasey Ford and Supreme Court Justice nominee and U.S. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh before the Senate Judiciary Committee. If you were like me, you were hanging on to every word of Blasey Ford and Kavanaugh. Additionally, if you were like me, you were personally familiar with the actions (or similar actions), responses and feelings she described of the alleged summer 1982 sexual assault in Maryland.

There have been two other women who made allegations against Kavanaugh as well.

ELECTION POLICY

Thursday, October 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 6 General Election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by or about those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 10 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor’s View

Thursday, September 27, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Only yes means yes

The year Jeanne Anne Clery was raped and murdered in her dorm room at Lehigh University, I was a freshman at nearby Moravian College in Bethlehem.

On April 5, 1986, Clery awoke during an attempted robbery by Josoph Henry, a fellow student at Lehigh, who beat, cut, raped, sodomized and strangled her. She was a freshman. He was a sophomore. During his trial, he claimed alcohol consumption caused his crime. The state rejected the argument. He is serving a life sentence in prison.