Salisbury Press

Sunday, December 9, 2018

Editor’s View

Thursday, December 6, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Decluttering is good for our health and happiness

Thank you all who commented on my Oct. 17 Editor’s View on dealing with our Generation Y, Z and millennial family members.

It is good to know I am not alone in my frustration with our younger generation not wanting “things” – instead, wanting experiences.

Since that Editor’s View, conversations have continued with the fact our children and grandchildren will not want our “things” when we are gone.

I am a person who sees the value of and appreciates the connection with “things” from my grandparents, which my youngest has already said he does not want.

That chronic chest cold may be more than you think

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The nasty cycle repeated itself for decades.

Verna, a public school teacher, would suffer a serious bout of bronchitis.

A week of antibiotics knocked out the infection enough that she would feel ready to return to the classroom.

Two weeks later the bronchitis was back.

So were the antibiotics.

After repeated bronchial infections year after year, she finally sought the opinion of a pulmonary specialist.

In-depth testing and a CT scan showed she had bronchiectasis, a lung condition that results in respiratory damage.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

When the snow is glistening in the lane, be prepared

You know it is bad when a tweet like this appears in your feed.

“Statewide PENNDOT update. Speed Restrictions. The speed limit has been reduced to 45 mph throughout PA.”

Twitter users received that message Nov. 15 from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation when a powerful snowstorm blasted into the state.

Drivers experienced the pounding weather firsthand.

Area roadways went from snow dusted to covered to dangerously slippery in what seemed like a flash.

Roads and highways closed.

Another View

Tuesday, November 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering our blessings in these uncertain times

Thank goodness. It is finally Thanksgiving, and Christmas is right around the corner. That means it is publicly acceptable for me to watch the holiday movie “Miracle on 34th Street.” (I may or may not have started to watch this film before Halloween. Don’t ask my husband.)

Editor’s View

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

REAL ID — here’s what you need to know

A few months ago, two postcards were delivered to my mailbox. They were sent by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and addressed to my daughters.

The subject of the mailing was “Important Information from PennDOT About REAL ID.” According to the postcards, because their very first driver’s licenses were issued after September 2003, PennDOT might have all the information required for a REAL ID and they might be able to avoid going to a driver’s license center.

Another View

Thursday, November 8, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering why we celebrate

Veterans Day celebrates all who served our country honorably in both war and peace.

According to the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Day was originally called Armistice Day and observed the anniversary of the end of World War I, Nov. 11, 1919. This day has continued as a celebration of those who served our country. It was declared a national holiday in 1938, and the name change became official in 1954.

Armistice Day was made a national holiday “to be dedicated to the cause of world peace,” according to the USDVA.

Editor’s View

Thursday, November 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The monsters among us

The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference. Because of indifference, one dies before one actually dies. To be in the window and watch people being sent to concentration camps or being attacked in the street and do nothing, that’s being dead. (Elie Wiesel, Holocaust survivor, U.S. News & World Report, Oct. 27, 1986)

Look to your left. Look to your right. Look behind you and in front of you.

‘There is absolutely no justification for such an act...’

Thursday, November 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

The Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley is deeply shocked at the horrific incident of mass shooting at Tree of Life Synagogue in Pittsburgh. There is absolutely no justification for such an act in any religion. We offer our heartfelt condolences to the families of those killed or injured. Our prayers are with all those that are affected by these senseless atrocities.

LETTERs TO THE EDITOR

Friday, October 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Marty Nothstein is the ‘political outsider’ we urgently need to represent the 7th District

Dear Editor,

Marty Nothstein is a champion; a gold medal cyclist in the 2000 Olympic Games.

As a person, he has internalized the discipline, hard work, hardship and rigorous resolve that are fundamental in the success and victory for achieving one’s goals in life.

All of these attributes aside, Nothstein has also succeeded as a leader at the nonprofit Valley Preferred Cycling Center, wherein he distinguished himself improving the organization’s finances and expanding its community outreach goals.