Salisbury Press

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, February 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

1950s centenarian provides link to Abraham Lincoln

In the world of work, always have a goal and never stop chasing it.

That’s the essential advice from every job counselor I’ve ever known. Do what you love, and you’ll never have to dread getting up and heading to your job.

From grade school on, I always wanted to be a journalist. By way of applying for a high school weekly column, I was fortunate enough to be able to work my way into the newsroom of the local daily newspaper in the South Jersey town where I grew up.

Another view

Thursday, February 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lack of candy is breaking hearts this Valentine’s Day

For those with a sweet tooth, a Valentine’s Day favorite might be tough to find this year.

Everyone is familiar with the classic Sweethearts candy featuring cute little messages like “Be Mine,” “Let’s Kiss” and “True Love.” However, due to a company buyout and health code violations, the original brand of these candies will not be ready in time for Valentine’s Day this year.

Guest View

Thursday, February 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Tax Identity Theft

The “identity” of millions of individuals continues to be stolen by savvy thieves each year in the United States.

Today’s thieves are going after not just old bank statements, but old tax returns, and they are not just rooting through the trash, but are often using skimmers to collect credit card information or are getting information electronically through poorly safeguarded personal computers.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, February 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Treasure versus trash: When is the line crossed?

There was a brilliant mathematics teacher at the high school I attended. As the community was small, his children, who were also very smart, attended the same school.

Aside from what appeared to be their innate abilities in math and physics, I never suspected anything was different.

One day, a couple of friends and I, along with one of the teacher’s sons, went to his house.

I stepped inside the front door and could not believe what I saw.

Every inch of space — from floor to ceiling — was stacked with newspapers and books.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, January 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Minimum requirements for politicians should be established

To the Editor:

I believe we need to establish minimum requirements for our elected politicians and hold them accountable for each item listed.

•All politicians should be held to term limits.

•They should be required to attend a minimum 95 percent of scheduled voting of legislatures.

•If they fail to meet the 95 percent bench mark, their compensation is adjusted and forfeited accordingly to the percentage shortfall (this includes salary, pensions, medical insurances, expenses etc.).

Adaptive reuse is a strategy to preserve our history

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Years ago, before I knew what the buildings even were I remember driving past the former Allentown State Hospital and doing a double take. I pulled onto the campus and took a walk. The stately grounds and handsome buildings were stunning. A character and quality that doesn’t get built anymore. The hospital is now slated for demolition.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Because the boys watching today will be the men of tomorrow’

Have you seen the new Gillette commercial geared toward men that addresses bullying, toxic masculinity, sexual harassment and the #MeToo movement?

The commercial, which debuted Jan. 14 on social media, shows boys fighting while adults look on, saying “boys will be boys,” instances of bullying, clips of sexual harassment and more while the narrator asks, “Is this the best a man can get?”

The narrator continues by saying, “Something has changed and there is no going back,” while showing news clips of current events of sexual harassment and more.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons of compassion taught on a famous street

Dear reader:

I am concerned about Lily.

Last month Sesame Street, the beloved children’s program responsible for lessons on topics such as numbers, letters and rubber duckies, revealed to online viewers one of its cast members, a deep fuchsia plush muppet with long hair named Lily, was dealing with homelessness.

Lily, who is described as about 7 years old, and her family lost their apartment and moved in with Lily’s teacher and friend Miss Sofia.