Salisbury Press

Saturday, June 24, 2017

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, June 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Fighting for your life with the help of medicine, family, friends

It was difficult keeping such a rare cancer diagnosis from my sister and her family and my close friends; however, by doing so, I was able to ignore the disease and accept each day as it came.

I now look back and realize how careless and irrational my decision was to try to conceal such a disease. Concealing the disease ate away at my conscience and ultimately my physical body.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, June 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Politicians need to call an extended Christmas Truce to their rancor

Snoopy’s Christmas

“Christmas bells, those Christmas bells

Ring out from the land

Asking peace of all the world

And good will to man ...

“The Baron had Snoopy dead in his sights

He reached for the trigger to pull it up tight

Why he didn’t shoot, well, we’ll never know...

“The Baron made Snoopy fly to the Rhine

And forced him to land behind the enemy lines

Snoopy was certain that this was the end

When the Baron cried out, “Merry Christmas, my friend!” ...

“The Baron then offered a holiday toast

Another View

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Global approach necessary to combat climate change’s environmental effects

On June 1, President Donald Trump announced he was withdrawing the United States from the Paris Climate Agreement, saying the agreement is less about the climate and more about other countries gaining a financial advantage over the United States.

So, what is the Paris Climate Agreement and its terms?

Writing a new story

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The off-the-top-of-the-head answer to the question, ”What motivates you to go to work each day?” for most of us is, “To put food on the table and pay the bills.”

But, there is usually a much deeper reason — a passion that draws us to our particular line of work.

For me, it is the morning news.

Whether it is the sunrise edition on TV, the digital version of the local paper or the actual hard copy, I seem to pick up on the same message: Families are struggling with raising their children.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Daddy’s little girl

I am fortunate.

My father is still alive at age 84 and in relatively good health.

I still call him “Daddy.”

I learned a lot from my dad. I learned how to cut the grass, take out the trash, spackle, install insulation and drywall, paint, garden and bathe and groom our dog.

We would sit together as a family in front of the television to watch “The Ed Sullivan Show,” “Sonny and Cher” and “Jacques Cousteau” and many other shows.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a matter of trust

I am having a hard time watching television these days, and I suspect many are in the same situation. The Hallmark Channel has now become my “go to” station.

To me, it seems we have lost our sense of trust, decency, manners and security.

Recently, this is just some of what we have been exposed to:

•A comedian holding an inappropriate image of our president

•People physically removed from planes, because of overbooking

•Concert-goers, travelers and people attempting to enjoy their lives hurt or killed by ISIS

Life’s burdens need not defeat us

Wednesday, May 31, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Whenever I see an ad or a label proclaiming, “One size fits all,” I know the item will fit almost nobody. At least it won’t fit very well.

I get the same feeling when I hear cliché phrases meant to encourage or sympathize.

Recently, I heard a woman tell an acquaintance who had just lost her 11-year-old son, “God never gives us more burdens than we can bear.”

The bereaved mother became irate.

“I disagree. This is much more than I can handle,” she retorted.

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Beware the results of unsecured technological advancements

Many things in life are like a double-edged sword.

A mother’s love can be warm and nurturing. That same “love” can be smothering and controlling.

Fathers and others who coach youth sports teams can draw out the best from young players, or they can be overbearing tyrants more interested in winning than teaching skills that can be used throughout life.

Water and fire are necessary for life. They also can be devastating and deadly.

Election Policy

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the April 19 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate needed to be received by The Press no later than April 28.