Salisbury Press

Friday, January 17, 2020

Another View

Wednesday, January 8, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Seeking mental health care should not come with a stigma attached

Everyone, from time to time, experiences emotional ups and downs caused by events in his or her life or from more severe clinical mental health conditions.

Many individuals suffer in silence and do not seek help from mental health care professionals for fear of being judged by family, friends or co-workers.

Oprah recently discussed mental health issues with singer Lady Gaga during the first of several interviews in Oprah’s “2020 Vision: Your Life in Focus” cross-country tour.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, January 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

We can’t ignore global warming, not with Greta Thunberg leading the way

When my children were younger, a favorite 1996 movie was “Alaska,” a story about two children who searched for their missing father in the mountains of Alaska. Along the way, the two learn valuable lessons and meet a baby polar bear on the run from poachers. My children loved the adventures of the baby polar bear. My youngest son had a stuffed polar bear we affectionately named “Cubby” from the movie.

So should we be concerned about the images we see of the starving polar bears in Alaska losing their homes?

ANOTHER VIEW

Monday, December 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Bringing back civility one door at time

A workday morning and things were not going well so far.

Leaving home later than planned. No time for breakfast. Traffic to work heavier than expected.

And the gas gauge was closer to E than F.

In a hurry I was distracted, mentally calculating if I would be on time, when the door of the Wawa, Cedar Crest Boulevard, South Whitehall Township, miraculously stood open.

A tall man, bundled up against an unexpectedly cold late fall morning, held the door wide.

I probably stumbled a little as I stammered my startled thanks.

Another View

Friday, December 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Womanikin to the rescue

I hope I am never in a situation when I would need cardiopulmonary resuscitation. But if I ever am, I also hope any individuals around me do not hesitate to perform CPR.

In a Dec. 7 NPR article titled “Meet the Womanikin — the breasted vest working to close the CPR gender gap,” Rachel Treisman writes, “Research shows that bystanders are less likely to perform CPR on women than men, and experts say superficial anatomical differences may lead people to assume chest compression must be performed differently on men and women, which is not true.”

Legislator contacts

Thursday, December 12, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

STATE SENATE

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

STATE HOUSE

Rep. Bob Freeman, D-136th

Office: 215 Northampton St., Easton

Phones: 610-253-5543; 717-783-3815,

Editor’s View

Thursday, December 12, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Are those Black Friday, Cyber Monday deals still available?

The date was Dec. 2, a Monday — and a particularly busy day for me at work.

I stayed focused on my to-do list, so I could head out the door on time. It was Cyber Monday, and I had a mission.

I rushed home from the office, opened my laptop and systematically attacked my family’s Christmas lists, finishing the orders before anyone else got home that afternoon. What a sense of accomplishment at having gotten such great deals!

Legislator contacts

Sunday, December 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

STATE SENATE

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

STATE HOUSE

Rep. Bob Freeman, D-136th

Office: 215 Northampton St., Easton

Phones: 610-253-5543; 717-783-3815,

Another view

Sunday, December 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘And now for something completely different’

On Dec. 5, 1974, audiences said goodbye to Monty Python’s “Flying Circus” as the final episode aired on the British Broadcasting Corporation network. The popular and, at times, controversial show originally aired Oct. 5, 1969, making this year its 50th anniversary.

The group Monty Python was formed from the creative minds of Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, Michael Palin and Terry Gilliam. Gilliam was the only American in the group of British actors and writers, and he contributed the unique and recognizable animations that accompanied the show.

Area state senators & representatives

Friday, November 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl;

2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.