Salisbury Press

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Editor’s View

Thursday, June 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Me Too (and money?) bring change to Miss America contest

Miss America 2.0. Coming soon: New website. New show. New experience.

Previous winners of the popular pageant are casting their own votes now, after last week’s announcement the Miss America organization will eliminate its swimsuit and evening gown contests from the 97-year-old event.

Gretchen Carlson, the newly named chairwoman of the Miss America board of directors and herself a winner of the pageant, also announced it was no longer to be considered a pageant, but rather a competition.

Another view

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Think before speaking

“If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

Before acting, I ponder this phrase taught to me by my mother years ago. If whatever I am about to say or do does not fit the framework of “something nice,” I simply refrain from putting it out to the world. This second look has stopped me from doing a lot of things I know I would have regretted.

“When anger rises, think of the consequences,” Confucius said.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 30, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A weekend of Love vs. Hate

The weekend of May 18 to May 20 was a study in the contrast between love and hate, good vs. evil.

On Friday, hate prevailed as Dimitrios Pagourtzis, a 17-year-old student at Santa Fe High School, Santa Fe, Texas, walked into the school’s art complex with a shotgun and a handgun and began shooting at his fellow students.

In the end, 10 people were slaughtered. Another 13 were wounded. Pagourtzis was taken into custody following a shootout with police.

Another View

Thursday, May 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Take some time this Memorial Day weekend to honor the fallen heroes

Many Americans will celebrate Memorial Day with a picnic or barbecue.

However, Memorial Day, is not just a day to take time off from work, it is a day for Americans to honor fallen service men and women.

Those who serve make the ultimate commitment to serve their country during disaster and war. Because of these individuals serving in the U.S. Air Force, Navy, Marines, Coast Guard and state National Guard units, we have our freedom.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will you pay to connect?

It has been a little over a month since the news broke of the Facebook data breach involving Cambridge Analytica.

At least 87 million Facebook users were impacted.

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg apologized, appeared before Congress and went on a social media frenzy noting upcoming changes to the social media giant to ensure the privacy of users going forward.

During Zuckerberg’s testimony before Congress, Sen. Orin Hatch asked Zuckerberg if Facebook would always be free.

Zuckerberg responded, “Yes, there will always be a version of Facebook that is free.”

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the death of Dr. Donald Jaffe

To the Editor:

We mourn the recent death of our friend, Dr. Donald Jaffe. As a member, treasurer and benefactor of the Shelter House Society and numerous other civic and community service to other organizations he served with distinction and honor for the well-being of the East Penn community.

Two marked Jaffe benches and his inscribed name on our meritorious service plaque at the Shelter House bear witness to his service, to our country and the Emmaus and East Penn community.

Rev. Fred S. Foerster

Shelter House Society

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Is big data trending?

Cambridge Analytica is closing.

In May 2 headlines in the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, the firm announced plans to file for bankruptcy and, effectively shut down.

Cambridge Analytica recently was at the center of a political storm after revelations of its role in the 2016 U.S. presidential campaign and how big data harvested from social media can be used or misused.

Another view

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Taking a look back at the history of Mother’s Day

“My mom smiled at me. Her smile kind of hugged me.”

— “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio

As I sit down to start this another view piece on a Thursday when I’m not in the office, my 13-month-old son and I have already read five books, enjoyed breakfast and a snack, did a Target run, played with blocks, toys and a push cart and listened to the “Moana” soundtrack twice. I’ll throw in there a poopy diaper, too.

And it’s only 10:38 a.m. But this is a good morning — no mild temper tantrums … yet. (And I thought they didn’t start until 2 years old. My bad.)

Election Policy

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, have halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the April 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.