Salisbury Press

Monday, April 6, 2020

Legislator contacts

Thursday, April 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

STATE SENATE

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123

STATE HOUSE

Rep. Bob Freeman, D-136th

Office: 215 Northampton St., Easton

Phones: 610-253-5543; 717-783-3815

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, April 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Four little words

It is a scene being played across the nation, county and the Lehigh Valley.

Employees may be asked to gather in the corporation auditorium, meet in smaller groups in a conference room or large office, close the door behind them as they cross the threshold of their immediate supervisor’s office.

Some gatherings may need to wait for an owner or company CEO or upper level manager to appear. Nervous whispers may be exchanged.

Throats are cleared.

And then the words, heard frequently right now, are spoken.

“You are laid off.”

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Thursday, April 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Food for thought and I hope action

To the Editor:

During this wild time of self-disassociation from life as normal, I have a request to see what kind of effect we can have on our future.

There is a bill in the state legislature called House Bill 1069 or “Sunshine Act Reform.”

1) In your search engine type “palegis”

2) Click the first result for the web page

3) In the “legislation quick search” type HB1069 and read the legislation

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, April 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The fight against COVID-19 is a war:

War and conflict have been a ceaseless part of human history. The battle against the COVID-19 virus is an enemy no nation has ever met.

COVID-19 never tires. COVID-19 ceaselessly attacks, and COVID-19 is a survivor. COVID-19 is an awesome enemy but like all enemies in all wars, COVID-19 will be defeated.

In the battle to defeat COVID-19, there are an amazing number of organizations adopting military-style principles to defeat the disease and win the war for human health.

Another View

Thursday, March 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all in this together’

My last Another View opinion piece was published Feb. 5 and 6 in The Press newspapers. The headline — “Coronavirus is not what you should be worried about in U.S.”

I was wrong.

I never thought our country would see the troubles it currently is having.

The actions being taken to combat COVID-19 is disrupting every part of American lives — work, education, places of worship, hospitals, businesses for leisurely activities, family and friend gatherings and more.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, March 19, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Their secrets are not safe with us

Most of us prefer sunshine. It’s rare to hear someone say, “That was a nice, cloudy day.”

We’re invigorated by a glorious sunrise and spend hours outdoors on brilliantly sunny days.

As John Denver so succinctly sang, “Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy.”

In journalism, the reference to sunshine takes on an equally important meaning. Each year in March, news media organizations across the country celebrate Sunshine Week.

Election Policy

Thursday, March 19, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates and readers

As we approach the April 28 General Primary, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 1 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor’s View

Thursday, March 19, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘It is more blessed to give than to receive’

There’s a saying, We plan, and God laughs.

News of COVID-19, the new strain of the coronavirus, creeping ever closer to our neighborhoods has brought much anxiety to our lives. Add to that the cancellations of community activities, some of which we rely on to bring happiness and a sense of calm.

Daily we find ourselves looking for ways to keep our loved ones safe.

This requires some planning. But for so many, this planning can be overwhelming — even seemingly impossible.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, March 11, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The district’s proposal is short-sighted, last-minute and ill-received

To the Editor:

As a Salisbury Township resident, parent and educator, I have many serious concerns about the proposal to close Western Salisbury Elementary School abruptly at the end of the school year. At the public hearing on March 4, hundreds of parents and community members gathered to hear the administration’s presentation about consolidating grades K-4 at Truman Elementary and sending all district fifth graders to middle school.