Salisbury Press

Monday, November 18, 2019

Election Policy

Wednesday, October 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Election Policy

Wednesday, September 25, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, September 25, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lunch shaming has no place in school

There is a new trend these days across the United States called lunch shaming, where unpaid lunch bills in school districts are making the news.

In July, the Wyoming Valley West School District, in Luzerne County, threatened to have children placed in foster care if their parents didn’t pay an outstanding lunch debt of $22,476.

Todd Carmichael, the CEO and co-founder of La Colombe Coffee Roasters, offered to pay the debt. The school board president refused.

Carmichael sent a letter to the district.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, September 25, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Vote ‘yes’ on victims’ rights guarantees

We’ve watched enough crime dramas to know that those accused of a crime must be given their “Miranda warnings.”

“You have the right to remain silent; whatever you say can and will be used against you in a court of law …” etc.

Critics often complain that victims and their families are accorded no similar protections, but that, of course, is an oversimplification.

Nonetheless, when you and other voters go to the polls in Pennsylvania on Nov. 5, you will be asked to approve a constitutional amendment that spells out the rights of crime victims.

Election Policy

Thursday, September 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, September 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Won’t you be my neighbor?

Forty-two years ago Sept. 18, a remarkable photo was taken.

On Sept. 18, 1977, Voyager 1 captured the Earth and the moon in the same photo shot by a spacecraft from deep space.

Voyager 1, launched 13 days earlier from Cape Canaveral, Fla., was en route to the outer reaches of the solar system with the particular mission of glimpsing Jupiter and Saturn, according to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, also known as NASA.

This was not the first shot of the neighboring pair.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, September 11, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Fighting for the 9/11 first responders and volunteers

As we remember the horrific events from Sept. 11, 2001, we cannot ignore the many first responders and volunteers who ran toward the twin towers of the World Trade Center to help those in need.

These heroes have been in the news recently, fighting for the compensation fund to continue to care for those facing serious medical issues as a result of the survivor search and debris removal efforts.

Due to recent legislation, these first responders will get the help they need.

Another View

Wednesday, September 11, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Our girlfriends bring something special to our lives

Lucy Ricardo and Ethel Mertz.

Lorelai Gilmore and Sookie St. James.

Carrie Bradshaw, Samantha Jones, Charlotte York and Miranda Hobbes.

Dorothy Zbornak, Rose Nylund, Blanche Devereaux and Sophia Petrillo.

Tasha “Taystee” Jefferson and Poussey Washington.

Edina Monsoon and Patsy Stone.

Monica Geller, Rachel Green and Phoebe Buffay.

Rhoda Morgenstern and Mary Richards.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, September 5, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Back-to-school season often signals new norm

Have you seen the “Good Morning America” segment featuring the mom who stages a photo shoot to celebrate her children going back to school? What started as a way to ease the tension of a normally busy, stressful time of year got such an overwhelming response on social media that she continues to create a new scene each year.

“And every year the pictures get more elaborate, from Mom enjoying a deep-tissue massage to lounging in the pool with her coffee and book in hand — all while the kids look on with envious, and hilarious, expressions,” according to GMA.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Thursday, August 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Speak up if you don’t want your taxes to increase

To the Editor:

As a taxpayer in Lower Macungie, I suggest you spend a few minutes, take a drive and see all the large warehouses in the western area of our township.

To be specific, land west of Route 100 and land north of the Borough of Alburtis on Main Street which becomes Spring Creek Road. It is a beautiful farming area with acres of corn and other crops. The East Penn School District owns land for a future high school off of Route 100.

Recently our township passed a new zoning ordinance which will have a major affect on our real estate taxes in future years.