Salisbury Press

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Resident fed up with chickens

To the Editor:

My wife and I own an end unit townhouse in Alburtis. The unit adjacent to us has a chicken coop with over 1/2 dozen chickens. When I open my back door or sit on my deck, I am just feet from a chicken coop with its odor and noise.

The Borough of Alburtis Ordinance #292A does not address this matter and Chapter 92 under 92-102 “Fowl” only addresses barnyard or domestic fowl not being allowed to run upon the streets, lanes or alleys of Alburtis. No mention of chicken coops.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Local therapy dog leaves behind ‘incredible legacy’

To the Editor:

Our near and dear furry friend Sirius got his therapy dog calling from heaven April 22. There were no viable options to ease all the pain he had internally.

I want to personally thank your Press staff for taking such an interest in my passion: therapy dogs. It is my mission to continue where Sirius left off and educate the Lehigh Valley on what a therapy dog is all about.

Another View

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Gender swapping filter — hurtful or helpful?

The popular social media site Snapchat released a new feature this month. The gender swap filter allows you to take a picture of yourself or a friend and transform into the opposite gender.

Snapchat allows people to send pictures or short videos, called “snaps,” to friends. The most popular feature is these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear.

Remembering the fallen

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Remembrance markers with flags in memory and in honor of patriots who have and are serving our community and nation as veterans, law enforcement, firefighters, EMS and first responders are displayed at the following locations in Emmaus: St. John’s Lutheran Church, L & R Cemetery, Northwood Cemetery, Shelter House Museum, Emmaus Historical Museum and Emmaus Remembrance Garden.

Lest We Forget ... Remember and Give Thanks!

Rev. Fred S. Foerster

pastor emeritus

St. John’s Lutheran Church, Emmaus

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Vote for the pro-education candidates for East Penn School Board

To the Editor:

Tuesday, May 21, is Primary Election Day in the state of Pennsylvania. I have been watching the East Penn School Board race carefully.

This year, five 4-year seats are up for election, and one 2-year seat.

There are two candidates running for 4-year seats who have been vetted and are being supported by the leadership of the Concerned East Penn Taxpayers Association. The two, David Bocchino on the Republican ballot and Diane Schaffer, on both the Republican and Democratic ballots, concern me.

Election Policy

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the May 1 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Exercise your right: Vote on Tuesday

The 2019 municipal primary is May 21.

This is a true grassroots election.

Many of the names on the ballot are your neighbors, friends and even relatives.

You, the voters, will decide on the candidates who will move on to the November election to serve as township supervisors and commissioners, borough council members, school board directors, county commissioners and judges.

They will serve in office, anywhere from four to 10 years and make decisions that will directly affect you, your children and your community.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Poppies still a way to honor veterans

Years ago, while shopping at a Walmart on Memorial Day weekend, an older gentleman wearing a veteran’s cap, held out his hand offering to sell me a bright red fabric flower.

I averted my eyes and shuffled past him. “Just someone else looking for a handout,” I thought to myself.

Driving home my conscience began to toy with me. I remembered my grandfather walking me along a downtown sidewalk in the late 1940s. We came upon a veteran offering a similar red paper flower and grandfather produced a coin and bought me one from the vet.

Another View

Thursday, May 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Happy Mother’s Day

This coming Sunday, May 12, is Mother’s Day.

This is a day for all children, young and not-so-young, all across America to honor the woman who gave them love and guidance as they were growing.

According to History.com, celebrations of mothers and motherhood can be traced back to the ancient Greeks and Romans who held festivals to honor the mother goddesses Rhea and Cybele.

Mother’s Day arose in the 1900s due to the efforts of Anna Jarvis.

Her mom, Ann Reeves Jarvis, was a social activist during the Civil War era.