Salisbury Press

Sunday, May 26, 2019

Election Policy

Thursday, May 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the May 1 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Election Policy

Thursday, May 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the May 1 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Cards anyone?

Thursday, May 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

If you are in need of a deck of cards, contact Washington state Sen. Maureen Walsh. She has received hundreds of decks of cards in response to comments she made about nurses April 16.

While debating a bill proposing uninterrupted meal and rest breaks for nurses, as well as further protections against mandatory overtime, Walsh said nurses in Critical Access Hospitals with relatively few patients “probably do get breaks” and “probably play cards for a considerable amount of the day.”

This from a woman whose mother was a registered nurse.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

On-the-job training may produce valuable life lessons

Before it was a “thing” to do, my mother took me to work.

At the time, she worked for what was Pet Frozen Foods on Downyflake Lane in Allentown. In my childhood understanding of manufacturing, waffles were made there.

My mom had worked at Pet for several years on different shifts and was at the time on the overnight shift, which meant she was home in the afternoon when my siblings and I got home from school, a selling point, she said.

I am not really sure why she took me to work that day. It probably involved me asking repeatedly to go.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the May 1 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Another View

Thursday, April 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To celebrate Earth Day, what will you do to impact our world?

If you’re like me, you’re enjoying the warmer weather that comes with spring and anticipating the really warm days of summer. One thing I don’t enjoy is the buzzing I hear swarming around me when I’m outside at an event or playing with my son in the backyard. Although I have a fear of bees — I’ll save the traumatic childhood experience for another time — I know how important they are to plants, our environment and even the economy.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, April 11, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

College scam shows parents’ lack of faith in children’s own abilities

The court system is ably handling the parents involved in Operation Varsity Blues, and the man behind the scam to influence college admissions’ decisions at some prestigious American universities.

It’s now time to stop talking about those who’ve allegedly committed the crimes and start thinking about all those who’ve been negatively impacted by their actions.

Another View

Wednesday, April 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

As the saying goes, ‘April showers bring May flowers’

Not only do April showers give life to flowers, they also bring a host of hazards and concerns. Spring weather can be unpredictable. The temperatures swing back and forth between cool and hot.

Mark Twain once said, “In the spring, I have counted 136 kinds of weather inside of four and twenty hours.”

Four words can make a caregiver’s day

Thursday, March 28, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

When the phone rang one mid-morning, I considered not answering it.

A bit overwhelmed by my caregiving tasks, I was not in the mood to deal with sales calls or surveys.

But I answered it anyway. And I am glad I did.

A retired friend, Nancy, told me she was out and about doing errands.

“Do you need anything?” she asked.

What magic words. These four simple, wonderful words made my day.

Of course I needed something. I almost always need something.

Editor’s View

Thursday, March 28, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Journalists’ privacy takes flight

The reality of author George Orwell’s “1984” hit me one night when I coughed while sleeping.

A voice from my smartphone, which was on a nearby table, replied to the sound I had just made saying it was sorry, but it did not understand what I had just said.

The phone had been listening to me just like the telescreens of Orwell’s dystopian novel.

Egads! I wonder if I ever talked in my sleep.