Salisbury Press

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Guest view

Thursday, August 24, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The final bell rings

Although the radiation doctor said the side effects would ramp up as treatments progressed, I raised my head and shoulders and pushed forward to the finish line.

My final radiation treatment was Aug. 15. After six weeks of receiving treatments, Monday through Friday, I can officially say I am finished with this stage of cancer treatment.

My final day consisted of a tradition shared by all who complete their course of cancer treatment: I rang a bell signifying the end of radiation.

Editor’s View

Thursday, August 24, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Back to school — bring on the structure

The backpack, tags still on, and shopping bag full of folders, pencils and other supplies, are on the dining room table — next to the list of what’s left to buy.

My McIntosh- scented candle sits idle, yet ready to signal the start of another school year.

Happenings like these may be a part of your household, too — signs that we need not only tradition, but also structure, in our families. Children will head back to classes in the next week or so, a reminder to us parents of the importance of structure, organization and time management.

Editor’s View

Thursday, August 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Science finding it difficult to measure the intangible

Canines have had a special bond with humans since the first wolf pup found its way from the garbage dump into the heart of early man more than 15,000 years ago.

According to documented studies, the first domesticated species appeared by the end of the Late Pleistocene era, scavenging on animal remains left behind by early hunters.

These less aggressive wolves, attracted to the campsites by the smell of the hunters’ cooking meat, soon included these areas within their territories, and man became part of the pack.

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS

Thursday, July 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The world is our classroom

I am a lifelong student. I try to learn something new every day.

No, I don’t sit in a classroom semester after semester, year after year, or take courses on the Internet, although I would enjoy both of those pursuits, too.

I always loved school, from first grade through grad school.

To me, the whole world is a gigantic classroom, full of fascinating free lessons for all of us.

Some folks partake of this wonderful opportunity to gain more knowledge, while others pass up the chance.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, July 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Unknowns of radiation made easier by local therapy dog

I wasn’t sure what to think or ultimately expect, despite the radiation oncologist doctor and other medical professionals explaining the process to me.

My first radiation appointment two weeks ago at Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar Crest consisted of meeting with the doctor and going over the goals of treatment and its side effects.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, July 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Coming together to support a colleague

The world was rocked July 19 when it was announced Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., had been diagnosed with a primary brain tumor known as glioblastoma following a procedure to remove a blood clot from above his left eye at Mayo Clinic Hospital in Phoenix, Ariz.

“The senator and his family are reviewing further treatment options with his Mayo Clinic care team. Treatment options may include a combination of chemotherapy and radiation,” according to a statement by Mayo Clinic released July 19.

Another view

Thursday, July 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Engage your child’s mind!

Ahhh … it’s the summer – when kids rejoice in having no homework, assignments and school responsibilities for a few months.

But is that really a good thing? A New York Times op-ed contributor says no, it’s not, according to a July 27, 2011 article.

Jeff Smink said, “If students are not engaged in learning over the summer, they lose skills in math and reading. Summers off are one of the most important, yet least acknowledged, causes of underachievement in our schools.”

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It takes a village

Last week, people took to social media about an incident in the Village of Hokendauqua, Whitehall Township.

A neighborhood block had been taped off by police, cruisers and other emergency vehicles lined the street, and word spread that the coroner had been called to the scene because two bodies were discovered there.

Some surmised online that it was an overdose. Some suspected a murder-suicide. The latter might have seemed a bit far-fetched had Whitehall not had such a tragedy the week before.