Salisbury Press

Thursday, August 17, 2017

‘We should all stop judging books by their covers’

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

If you wanted something so badly, would you go after it?

A 15-year-old girl, named Sydney Ireland, did go after what she wanted. Her dream was to join the Boy Scouts, but they denied her due to a rule that was made in 1916.

Labeling people is wrong!

For example, just because boys are stronger than girls, it does not keep them from doing the same activities every day.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Should girls be allowed in the Boy Scouts of America?

I recently read the story of 15-year-old Sydney Ireland, of New York, who had petitioned the Boy Scouts of America to allow girls into the organization.

Sydney had attended Cub Scouts with her brother “unofficially” since she was very young. She was not able to earn any of the recognition or badges her older brother earned because she is female.

Her brother is now an Eagle Scout.

According to news reports, Sydney went as far as she could with Cub Scouts, later joined the South African Scouts and then achieved the highest rank with the Canadian Scouts.

‘Boy Scouts is a program for boys and boys only’

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Sydney Ireland, a girl from New York, in the Cub Scout program [Boy Scouts of America], was denied earlier this year the permission to join the Boy Scouts in order to be with her brother.

To me, it makes sense she was denied permission to join. She said she wanted to do what her brothers were doing and there is nothing wrong with that; however, there is no reason she had to participate in the Boy Scouts when there is already an organization for girls called the Girl Scouts.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the April 19 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate must be received by The Press no later than by 5 p.m. April 28.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, April 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The story of a lifetime can sometimes come before high school graduation

On April 3, Amy Robertson, newly named principal of Pittsburg High School in Kansas, resigned.

An investigation into Robertson’s background uncovered questionable credentials.

And the best part?

Student journalists for Booster Redux, the high school newspaper at Pittsburg High, conducted the investigation.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the April 19 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate must be received by The Press no later than by 5 p.m. April 28.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, April 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Are you oversharing on public Wi-Fi?

Connecting to the Internet in a public space like a coffee shop, the library or an airport is a wonderful modern convenience, but it comes with significant risk.

On a free public network, using Wi-Fi means you’re potentially sharing your credit card numbers, passwords and other personal information with the world, leaving yourself vulnerable to criminals.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, April 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Political experience a must for president

I wonder how the vast majority of President Donald Trump voters and supporters feel about his first couple of months in the White House.

I’ve been pondering such as the major campaign promises and policy initiatives he confidently said would become a reality, have not materialized – at least yet.

Too much, too little, too soon

Thursday, April 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

What do you think of when you hear the phrase “overindulged children”? I always thought of kids who had a lot of stuff and opportunities. You know — the kind of kids who rarely hear the word “no” and seem to get everything they want. The kind who act bratty and entitled.

But a recent read of a book called “How Much Is Too Much?” by Jean Illsley Clark, Ph.D., expanded my perception of what overindulgence really is. And to my surprise, my score on a questionnaire I completed in the back of the book classified me as one who unintentionally overindulges my kids a bit.