Salisbury Press

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Allentown is more and less than meets the eye

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Knowing I live in downtown Allentown, people have been asking my opinion lately on the fate of the city that is the subject of so much publicity.

As a resident here for more than 50 years, after growing up in the Fogelsville area, I have experienced firsthand the rebirth of the downtown.

It looks great. It feels vibrant. Good stuff is happening here.

Sure I miss Hess’s and all the wonderful downtown stores, and I always will. Thankfully I have my sweet memories because those splendid businesses never are coming back to town.

Gov. Tom Wolf announces PSSA testing reduction

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf has announced a reduction in standardized testing for students in the commonwealth.

According to an Aug. 14 news release from the governor’s office, “The change to the Pennsylvania System of School Assessment will reduce the length of the tests by 20 percent in grades three through eight.”

Wolf commented on the change during a “Schools That Teach” tour stop at Susquehanna Middle School, Dauphin County, with state Secretary of Education Pedro Rivera.

DISTRICT NEWS

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 by State Rep. Ryan Mackenzie, R-134th in Opinion

We shouldn’t spend money we don’t have; Why I voted ‘No’ on the state budget

Formulating a $31.9 billion budget for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is a big undertaking. Putting together our annual budget is an essential part of my job as a state legislator and a responsibility I take very seriously. My philosophy, similar to most household budgets, is to “live within our means.” Simply put, I believe we should not spend more than we have available. In the case of the state, we have revenue that is generated each year in the form of taxes and fees and that is the money we can use to fund the budget.

Another view

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Saying goodbye to the job I love

Sixteen years is a long time. I don’t think I’ve realized just how long until I started cleaning out my office desk. It’s been 16 years and about nine months since I first came to work for East Penn Publishing, now called The Press weekly newspapers.

In a short time, I will step into a life of retirement — a season of my life which I hope will also last a long time. In anticipation of that final day in the office, I’ve been cleaning out my desk, one file at a time, and have come across a lot of memories.

Guest view

Thursday, August 24, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The final bell rings

Although the radiation doctor said the side effects would ramp up as treatments progressed, I raised my head and shoulders and pushed forward to the finish line.

My final radiation treatment was Aug. 15. After six weeks of receiving treatments, Monday through Friday, I can officially say I am finished with this stage of cancer treatment.

My final day consisted of a tradition shared by all who complete their course of cancer treatment: I rang a bell signifying the end of radiation.

Editor’s View

Thursday, August 24, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Back to school — bring on the structure

The backpack, tags still on, and shopping bag full of folders, pencils and other supplies, are on the dining room table — next to the list of what’s left to buy.

My McIntosh- scented candle sits idle, yet ready to signal the start of another school year.

Happenings like these may be a part of your household, too — signs that we need not only tradition, but also structure, in our families. Children will head back to classes in the next week or so, a reminder to us parents of the importance of structure, organization and time management.

Editor’s View

Thursday, August 3, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Science finding it difficult to measure the intangible

Canines have had a special bond with humans since the first wolf pup found its way from the garbage dump into the heart of early man more than 15,000 years ago.

According to documented studies, the first domesticated species appeared by the end of the Late Pleistocene era, scavenging on animal remains left behind by early hunters.

These less aggressive wolves, attracted to the campsites by the smell of the hunters’ cooking meat, soon included these areas within their territories, and man became part of the pack.

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS

Thursday, July 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The world is our classroom

I am a lifelong student. I try to learn something new every day.

No, I don’t sit in a classroom semester after semester, year after year, or take courses on the Internet, although I would enjoy both of those pursuits, too.

I always loved school, from first grade through grad school.

To me, the whole world is a gigantic classroom, full of fascinating free lessons for all of us.

Some folks partake of this wonderful opportunity to gain more knowledge, while others pass up the chance.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, July 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Unknowns of radiation made easier by local therapy dog

I wasn’t sure what to think or ultimately expect, despite the radiation oncologist doctor and other medical professionals explaining the process to me.

My first radiation appointment two weeks ago at Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar Crest consisted of meeting with the doctor and going over the goals of treatment and its side effects.