Salisbury Press

Saturday, May 30, 2020

Election Policy

Thursday, April 16, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Gov. Tom Wolf signed Senate Bill 422 March 27, postponing the primary election to June 2 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As we approach the June 2 primary election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office or regarding those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 30 edition.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 9, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Gov. Tom Wolf signed Senate Bill 422 March 27, postponing the primary election to June 2 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As we approach the June 2 primary election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office or regarding those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 30 edition.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, April 9, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘This was supposed to be your year’

These are the words of Chris Dier, Louisiana’s 2020 Teacher of the Year and a finalist for national Teacher of the Year. He teaches world history and AP human geography at Chalmette High School in St. Bernard Parish.

“Let’s be abundantly clear — you were robbed and it’s unfair,” Dier continued.

Dier provided this message on his personal blog for the thousands of high school seniors who are attending online classes for their final semester due to COVID-19.

Legislator contacts

Thursday, April 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

STATE SENATE

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123

STATE HOUSE

Rep. Bob Freeman, D-136th

Office: 215 Northampton St., Easton

Phones: 610-253-5543; 717-783-3815

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, April 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Four little words

It is a scene being played across the nation, county and the Lehigh Valley.

Employees may be asked to gather in the corporation auditorium, meet in smaller groups in a conference room or large office, close the door behind them as they cross the threshold of their immediate supervisor’s office.

Some gatherings may need to wait for an owner or company CEO or upper level manager to appear. Nervous whispers may be exchanged.

Throats are cleared.

And then the words, heard frequently right now, are spoken.

“You are laid off.”

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Thursday, April 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Food for thought and I hope action

To the Editor:

During this wild time of self-disassociation from life as normal, I have a request to see what kind of effect we can have on our future.

There is a bill in the state legislature called House Bill 1069 or “Sunshine Act Reform.”

1) In your search engine type “palegis”

2) Click the first result for the web page

3) In the “legislation quick search” type HB1069 and read the legislation

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, April 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The fight against COVID-19 is a war:

War and conflict have been a ceaseless part of human history. The battle against the COVID-19 virus is an enemy no nation has ever met.

COVID-19 never tires. COVID-19 ceaselessly attacks, and COVID-19 is a survivor. COVID-19 is an awesome enemy but like all enemies in all wars, COVID-19 will be defeated.

In the battle to defeat COVID-19, there are an amazing number of organizations adopting military-style principles to defeat the disease and win the war for human health.

Another View

Thursday, March 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all in this together’

My last Another View opinion piece was published Feb. 5 and 6 in The Press newspapers. The headline — “Coronavirus is not what you should be worried about in U.S.”

I was wrong.

I never thought our country would see the troubles it currently is having.

The actions being taken to combat COVID-19 is disrupting every part of American lives — work, education, places of worship, hospitals, businesses for leisurely activities, family and friend gatherings and more.