Salisbury Press

Monday, June 24, 2019

Marriage requires work and communication

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A funny tale pops up when people talk about marriage and anniversaries: A couple was celebrating their golden anniversary by renewing their vows. At the conclusion of the little ceremony, their pastor congratulated them on 50 years of marriage and posed to them one question. “At any point along the way, did divorce ever cross your minds?” The husband responded with a quick “No, never.” The wife nodded in agreement and said, “Divorce, no. Murder, yes.” And such is the stuff that marriages are made of.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The cost of winter weather

You might be reading this in the aftermath of (another) snow day.

On March 3, when serious work began on this piece, forecasters anticipated snow in various accumulations in a storm expected to last mid-afternoon to early morning March 4. Predictions of inclement weather prompted Northwestern Lehigh School District to cancel the afternoon performance of the spring musical “The Addams Family” at the high school March 3 and offer details about securing ticket refunds via a special bulletin on the district website.

Another View

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Step into spring with a goal of reducing your credit card debt

When was the last time you used a credit card to make a purchase? Was it last week? A couple days ago? Or was it even sometime today?

According to cnbc.com’s Jan. 23, 2018, article titled “Credit card debt hits a record high. It’s time to pay off your debt,” Jessica Dickler writes, “The average American has a credit card balance of $6,375, up from nearly 3 percent from [2017], according to Experian’s annual study on the state of credit and debt in America.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State of the L. Macungie Township 2019

Lower Macungie is the third largest municipality in the Lehigh Valley with 32,000 residents over 24 square miles. We maintain 132 miles of roads, 14 bridges and 124 miles of sewer lines. Growth is an opportunity but at the same time one of our biggest challenges.

Over the last four years, we’ve focused on balancing economic development with quality of life. That means preserving prime agriculture and environmentally sensitive open space whenever possible. Where we can’t, we focus on guiding higher value projects to appropriate locations where infrastructure already exists.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Oh, the lessons we’ve learned

The story goes that one man challenged a second man to write a children’s book using only 50 different words.

The first man was Bennett Cerf, founder of the Random House publishing company. The second man was Theodor Geisel, author, political cartoonist and animator.

The outcome of the bet: $50 in Geisel’s pocket and a little book titled “Green Eggs and Ham.”

The challenge was a win-win really. Random House, in 1960, published the work, which has sold more than 8 million copies.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, February 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

1950s centenarian provides link to Abraham Lincoln

In the world of work, always have a goal and never stop chasing it.

That’s the essential advice from every job counselor I’ve ever known. Do what you love, and you’ll never have to dread getting up and heading to your job.

From grade school on, I always wanted to be a journalist. By way of applying for a high school weekly column, I was fortunate enough to be able to work my way into the newsroom of the local daily newspaper in the South Jersey town where I grew up.

Another view

Thursday, February 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lack of candy is breaking hearts this Valentine’s Day

For those with a sweet tooth, a Valentine’s Day favorite might be tough to find this year.

Everyone is familiar with the classic Sweethearts candy featuring cute little messages like “Be Mine,” “Let’s Kiss” and “True Love.” However, due to a company buyout and health code violations, the original brand of these candies will not be ready in time for Valentine’s Day this year.

Guest View

Thursday, February 14, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Tax Identity Theft

The “identity” of millions of individuals continues to be stolen by savvy thieves each year in the United States.

Today’s thieves are going after not just old bank statements, but old tax returns, and they are not just rooting through the trash, but are often using skimmers to collect credit card information or are getting information electronically through poorly safeguarded personal computers.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, February 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Treasure versus trash: When is the line crossed?

There was a brilliant mathematics teacher at the high school I attended. As the community was small, his children, who were also very smart, attended the same school.

Aside from what appeared to be their innate abilities in math and physics, I never suspected anything was different.

One day, a couple of friends and I, along with one of the teacher’s sons, went to his house.

I stepped inside the front door and could not believe what I saw.

Every inch of space — from floor to ceiling — was stacked with newspapers and books.