Salisbury Press

Thursday, August 17, 2017

another view

Thursday, April 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Fishing: it’s not just about dinner

“Fishing is much more than fish. It is the great occasion when we may return to the fine simplicity of our forefathers.” – Herbert Hoover

I’ve only gone fishing three times in my life. The opening day of trout season in the Lehigh Valley Saturday got me to thinking, though, about the attraction and significance of the sport.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Tuesday, March 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Punishment for littering has to hurt in order to be effective

I remember the commercial from my childhood: a Native American standing roadside, a tear rolling down his cheek as he sees the beauty of the landscape stripped away by litter.

That public service announcement, part of the Keep America Beautiful campaign, first aired in 1971.

GUEST VIEW

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Trees are a valuable resource for the future health of the planet

In “Another View” for Feb. 22, Stacey Koch pushed for urgent action to counter climate change.

A part of this action should be the protection of the trees that we have across the state of Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania is “Penn’s Woods.” The people of our state cherish their properties, their trees, their shrubs. Would you want it to be otherwise?

Another View

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

How altruistic are you?

Every day, someone becomes a victim of a crime. And, then there are those who risk their own lives and safety to help those in need.

When Daniel DeTurck, of Reading, Berks County, saw an Amber Alert Jan. 3 on his phone asking the public’s help to locate an infant abducted by alleged murder suspect Antonio Velazquez-Rupert, DeTurck didn’t hesitate to help.

When DeTurck, a security guard, saw a vehicle matching the description in the Amber Alert, he dialed 911 and took off after the vehicle, with no thought for his own safety or personal situation.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, March 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Wisdom in the age of dementia

Last week, former teen idol David Cassidy announced his dementia diagnosis.

According to media reports, the singer and television star, who once was the object of numerous fan clubs and had the ability to pack music venues with screaming tween and teenage girls, was struggling to remember lyrics to his songs while on tour.

Another view

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

We need to worry about climate change now, not later

“The climate is changing, it’s our fault and we got to get to work on this.”

— Bill Nye, scientist, in a video release for the documentary “Bill Nye the Science Guy”

“The Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.”

— Genesis 2:15

“If you besiege a town for a long time, making war against it in order to take it, you must not destroy its trees by wielding an ax against them. Although you may take food from them, you must not cut them down. Are trees in the field human beings that they should come under siege from you?”

For well-being, make the right move

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I am a person who doesn’t like change.

In our fast-changing world, that’s not a good way to be, I guess, but it’s the way I am.

Usually I don’t think about the subject much, but this past weekend three things happened that put the focus on change and got my attention.

A friend in New Jersey told me she is selling her home and car and moving to a continuing care retirement community.

Another friend, who, for financial reasons, had moved to a senior high-rise apartment and hated his new living arrangements, died.

No two couples are alike

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

One winter evening, I dropped in on a friend for a quick visit. A cozy fire glowed in the fireplace as my friend and her husband clad in their flannel jammies cuddled under a blanket on the love seat. They were watching one of their favorite TV shows together. Mugs of hot chocolate sat on their laps. After some conversation about the weather and our kids, I couldn’t help but comment on the way they were spending the evening. “Do you do this every night?” I asked kind of incredulously.

PSEA is the most powerful public employee union in the state

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I recently read about the Pennsylvania State Education Association union and its constant diatribe involving Betsy DeVos and Pat Toomey and it brought back memories from the time I served as a federal mediator in Ohio where that state, at that time, did not have their own mediation service so we feds did it for them.