Salisbury Press

Thursday, August 17, 2017

‘We want our elections to be fair, our votes to count and our voices to be heard’

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

In response to the brave and angry letter of Regina Clark in last week’s East Penn Press, I heard you, Regina, and I support you. Senator Toomey is currently very comfortable with the extreme picks of Trump and why not?

Although Senator Toomey squeaked by in his two senatorial elections, for the next five years he can cruise. He can’t be bothered with the concerns of his constituents.

Travel ban shows White House ineptitude

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

President Donald Trump’s Jan. 27 executive order has led to some chaotic results that are making me nervous about our country’s new leader and his White House staff.

I am not surprised the order, which blocks admission to the United States by individuals from seven countries, was issued. After all, one of Trump’s campaign promises was to institute a policy of “extreme vetting” to keep the country safe from terrorists. We did not have to wait long for him to take the action. The executive order was signed just eight days after his inauguration.

Check out a charity before writing a check

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It seems everyone wants our money.

As the holiday season approached, my husband and I were inundated with mailings and telephone calls requesting donations for a multitude of charities, including quite a few unfamiliar to us.

I am sure some organizations we supported in the past sold their donor lists to similar organizations, and soon the pleas for help (along with calendars, address labels and greeting cards) began stacking up on my desk.

Even my late husband, gone over 25 years, received some appeals for money. Good luck with that!

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

‘We will not forget Toomey’s betrayal’

To the Editor:

Senator Pat Toomey’s constituents have spoken.

We’ve spoken so voluminously and so loudly that we’ve been unable to reach Toomey by phone or fax.

Today, I am dismayed at Toomey’s written response, in which he relays he will support Betsy DeVos for Secretary of Education despite the flooding of opposition to her from his constituents.

We see who Senator Toomey serves and it is not the people in his state, but the people with deep pockets: families like the DeVos family who have donated nearly $60,000 to his campaign.

Editor’s view

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Keep calm and …

How would you complete that statement today?

In the wake of a highly contentious election, and an equally stressful post-election season, people seem to be struggling to find their source of calm and healing.

Would you choose to pray or protest?

Do you find comfort in the company of like-minded citizens, even if they are complete strangers? Or, do you find yourself staying close to home and holding your loved ones just a little closer?

I would complete the above statement in two ways: Keep calm and stay educated. And keep calm and journal.

Guest view Music to a parent’s ears

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

There are some words that just make my day. “How did you survive raising me?!” is a question that is truly music to my ears.

My oldest son called me one morning to say he was absolutely exhausted from dealing with his 5-year-old. I smiled. You see, Dan was my challenging child. He went on to tell me how Jackson insisted upon dressing like a pirate for preschool that day. They tried everything under the sun to convince him it was not appropriate to wear a costume to school in December, but Jackson persisted. I smiled even more.

Editor’s View

Thursday, February 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

And you thought things were going to be different

The name and political party of an American president or, for that matter, the leader of any country are unimportant.

Blind and uncompromising bureaucracy is the true ruler, and the individual is unimportant in a land governed by laws lacking in common sense.

From young children in wheelchairs groped by TSA agents at airport screenings to the homeowner whose property is seized through eminent domain, the “good” of the country or political subdivision rises above humanity.

Not an acrobat’s daughter but a one-time elephant rider

Tuesday, January 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Circus is folding the big top.

In an announcement on its website, declines in ticket sales and “the transition of elephants off the road” were cited by Kenneth Feld, chief executive of Feld Entertainment, current owner of the 140-plus-year-old entertainment institution, as among factors making the circus an “unsustainable business.”

Various media outlets announced the closing of the circus in top-of-the-hour roundups Jan. 15.

Working to improve stroke care in Pennsylvania

Tuesday, January 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Strokes are the fifth leading cause of death in the United States and they are the leading cause of serious long-term disability. However, the quicker a person receives appropriate treatment for a stroke, the better the outcome can be in terms of survival and reduced long-term complications and disability.

In order to provide the best care in Pennsylvania for those who suffer a stroke, I have introduced legislation that will help direct stroke victims to the appropriate hospital to treat their type of stroke.