Salisbury Press

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Another View

Wednesday, June 5, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

“When you feel so mad that you wanna roar, take a deep breath and count to four.”

“It’s almost time to stop, so choose one more thing to do. That was fun, but now it’s done.”

“Will you pick me up when I go to school? Yep, at the end of the day because that’s the rule. Grown-ups come back.”

“If you can’t do it alone, work together. It’s better to work together.”

If you have a young child or grandchild, there’s a very good chance you have heard these lyrics from “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood,” a popular PBS children’s television show.

AAA East Central

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Taking multiple medications can increase crash risk for older drivers

Nearly 50 percent of older adults report using seven or more medications while remaining active drivers, according to new research from the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

Currently, a record 42 million adults aged 65 and older are driving, which is expected to increase substantially over the next decade and may make them the largest driving population.

AAA encourages older drivers to ask their doctors and pharmacists as many questions as necessary to ensure they understand why they need the medications prescribed to them, and how they can affect their driving.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Help wanted: Interested in community journalism?

Things are getting busier at The Press. We’ve just finished covering musical theater productions, junior/senior proms and Memorial Day services. Now, we’re preparing for high school graduations — celebrating the achievements of our area students, many of whom we’ve featured on our pages since their elementary days — and the ever-popular summer camps.

Our work here is to capture the happenings in our communities in print, via stories and photographs, and online, through our website. There’s always something going on, and for that, we’re thankful.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Resident fed up with chickens

To the Editor:

My wife and I own an end unit townhouse in Alburtis. The unit adjacent to us has a chicken coop with over 1/2 dozen chickens. When I open my back door or sit on my deck, I am just feet from a chicken coop with its odor and noise.

The Borough of Alburtis Ordinance #292A does not address this matter and Chapter 92 under 92-102 “Fowl” only addresses barnyard or domestic fowl not being allowed to run upon the streets, lanes or alleys of Alburtis. No mention of chicken coops.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Local therapy dog leaves behind ‘incredible legacy’

To the Editor:

Our near and dear furry friend Sirius got his therapy dog calling from heaven April 22. There were no viable options to ease all the pain he had internally.

I want to personally thank your Press staff for taking such an interest in my passion: therapy dogs. It is my mission to continue where Sirius left off and educate the Lehigh Valley on what a therapy dog is all about.

Another View

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Gender swapping filter — hurtful or helpful?

The popular social media site Snapchat released a new feature this month. The gender swap filter allows you to take a picture of yourself or a friend and transform into the opposite gender.

Snapchat allows people to send pictures or short videos, called “snaps,” to friends. The most popular feature is these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear.

Remembering the fallen

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Remembrance markers with flags in memory and in honor of patriots who have and are serving our community and nation as veterans, law enforcement, firefighters, EMS and first responders are displayed at the following locations in Emmaus: St. John’s Lutheran Church, L & R Cemetery, Northwood Cemetery, Shelter House Museum, Emmaus Historical Museum and Emmaus Remembrance Garden.

Lest We Forget ... Remember and Give Thanks!

Rev. Fred S. Foerster

pastor emeritus

St. John’s Lutheran Church, Emmaus

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Vote for the pro-education candidates for East Penn School Board

To the Editor:

Tuesday, May 21, is Primary Election Day in the state of Pennsylvania. I have been watching the East Penn School Board race carefully.

This year, five 4-year seats are up for election, and one 2-year seat.

There are two candidates running for 4-year seats who have been vetted and are being supported by the leadership of the Concerned East Penn Taxpayers Association. The two, David Bocchino on the Republican ballot and Diane Schaffer, on both the Republican and Democratic ballots, concern me.

Election Policy

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the May 1 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.