Salisbury Press

Monday, November 19, 2018

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A reading adventure awaits at the library

An old, yellowed newspaper clipping is secured on my refrigerator with a magnet. It reads:

“You may have tangible wealth untold; caskets of jewels and coffers of gold. Richer than I you can never be — I had a mother who read to me,” from “The Reading Mother” by Strickland Gillilan in “The Read Aloud Handbook”

I put this quote on my refrigerator when I was pregnant with my first child, approximately 25 years ago. I learned if I read to my children before they were born, they would recognize my voice after they were born, and that was true.

Another View

Thursday, June 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Suicide: It’s affecting more and more families every day

“Money does not create happiness.”

— Proverb

On June 5, fashion designer Kate Brosnahan Spade was found dead in her apartment by her housekeeper. The 55-year-old died by suicide.

Three days later, celebrity chef Anthony Bourdain took his own life in France while working on his CNN television series. He was 61.

I remember hearing of the death of actor Robin Williams in 2014. I loved his movies, especially “Patch Adams” and “Dead Poets Society.” I think any character he played, he performed well and with passion.

Editor’s View

Thursday, June 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Me Too (and money?) bring change to Miss America contest

Miss America 2.0. Coming soon: New website. New show. New experience.

Previous winners of the popular pageant are casting their own votes now, after last week’s announcement the Miss America organization will eliminate its swimsuit and evening gown contests from the 97-year-old event.

Gretchen Carlson, the newly named chairwoman of the Miss America board of directors and herself a winner of the pageant, also announced it was no longer to be considered a pageant, but rather a competition.

Another view

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Think before speaking

“If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

Before acting, I ponder this phrase taught to me by my mother years ago. If whatever I am about to say or do does not fit the framework of “something nice,” I simply refrain from putting it out to the world. This second look has stopped me from doing a lot of things I know I would have regretted.

“When anger rises, think of the consequences,” Confucius said.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 30, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A weekend of Love vs. Hate

The weekend of May 18 to May 20 was a study in the contrast between love and hate, good vs. evil.

On Friday, hate prevailed as Dimitrios Pagourtzis, a 17-year-old student at Santa Fe High School, Santa Fe, Texas, walked into the school’s art complex with a shotgun and a handgun and began shooting at his fellow students.

In the end, 10 people were slaughtered. Another 13 were wounded. Pagourtzis was taken into custody following a shootout with police.

Another View

Thursday, May 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Take some time this Memorial Day weekend to honor the fallen heroes

Many Americans will celebrate Memorial Day with a picnic or barbecue.

However, Memorial Day, is not just a day to take time off from work, it is a day for Americans to honor fallen service men and women.

Those who serve make the ultimate commitment to serve their country during disaster and war. Because of these individuals serving in the U.S. Air Force, Navy, Marines, Coast Guard and state National Guard units, we have our freedom.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will you pay to connect?

It has been a little over a month since the news broke of the Facebook data breach involving Cambridge Analytica.

At least 87 million Facebook users were impacted.

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg apologized, appeared before Congress and went on a social media frenzy noting upcoming changes to the social media giant to ensure the privacy of users going forward.

During Zuckerberg’s testimony before Congress, Sen. Orin Hatch asked Zuckerberg if Facebook would always be free.

Zuckerberg responded, “Yes, there will always be a version of Facebook that is free.”

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the death of Dr. Donald Jaffe

To the Editor:

We mourn the recent death of our friend, Dr. Donald Jaffe. As a member, treasurer and benefactor of the Shelter House Society and numerous other civic and community service to other organizations he served with distinction and honor for the well-being of the East Penn community.

Two marked Jaffe benches and his inscribed name on our meritorious service plaque at the Shelter House bear witness to his service, to our country and the Emmaus and East Penn community.

Rev. Fred S. Foerster

Shelter House Society