Salisbury Press

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, April 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The story of a lifetime can sometimes come before high school graduation

On April 3, Amy Robertson, newly named principal of Pittsburg High School in Kansas, resigned.

An investigation into Robertson’s background uncovered questionable credentials.

And the best part?

Student journalists for Booster Redux, the high school newspaper at Pittsburg High, conducted the investigation.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the April 19 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate must be received by The Press no later than by 5 p.m. April 28.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, April 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Are you oversharing on public Wi-Fi?

Connecting to the Internet in a public space like a coffee shop, the library or an airport is a wonderful modern convenience, but it comes with significant risk.

On a free public network, using Wi-Fi means you’re potentially sharing your credit card numbers, passwords and other personal information with the world, leaving yourself vulnerable to criminals.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, April 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Political experience a must for president

I wonder how the vast majority of President Donald Trump voters and supporters feel about his first couple of months in the White House.

I’ve been pondering such as the major campaign promises and policy initiatives he confidently said would become a reality, have not materialized – at least yet.

Too much, too little, too soon

Thursday, April 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

What do you think of when you hear the phrase “overindulged children”? I always thought of kids who had a lot of stuff and opportunities. You know — the kind of kids who rarely hear the word “no” and seem to get everything they want. The kind who act bratty and entitled.

But a recent read of a book called “How Much Is Too Much?” by Jean Illsley Clark, Ph.D., expanded my perception of what overindulgence really is. And to my surprise, my score on a questionnaire I completed in the back of the book classified me as one who unintentionally overindulges my kids a bit.

another view

Thursday, April 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Fishing: it’s not just about dinner

“Fishing is much more than fish. It is the great occasion when we may return to the fine simplicity of our forefathers.” – Herbert Hoover

I’ve only gone fishing three times in my life. The opening day of trout season in the Lehigh Valley Saturday got me to thinking, though, about the attraction and significance of the sport.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Tuesday, March 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Punishment for littering has to hurt in order to be effective

I remember the commercial from my childhood: a Native American standing roadside, a tear rolling down his cheek as he sees the beauty of the landscape stripped away by litter.

That public service announcement, part of the Keep America Beautiful campaign, first aired in 1971.

GUEST VIEW

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Trees are a valuable resource for the future health of the planet

In “Another View” for Feb. 22, Stacey Koch pushed for urgent action to counter climate change.

A part of this action should be the protection of the trees that we have across the state of Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania is “Penn’s Woods.” The people of our state cherish their properties, their trees, their shrubs. Would you want it to be otherwise?

Another View

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

How altruistic are you?

Every day, someone becomes a victim of a crime. And, then there are those who risk their own lives and safety to help those in need.

When Daniel DeTurck, of Reading, Berks County, saw an Amber Alert Jan. 3 on his phone asking the public’s help to locate an infant abducted by alleged murder suspect Antonio Velazquez-Rupert, DeTurck didn’t hesitate to help.

When DeTurck, a security guard, saw a vehicle matching the description in the Amber Alert, he dialed 911 and took off after the vehicle, with no thought for his own safety or personal situation.