Salisbury Press

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Poppies still a way to honor veterans

Years ago, while shopping at a Walmart on Memorial Day weekend, an older gentleman wearing a veteran’s cap, held out his hand offering to sell me a bright red fabric flower.

I averted my eyes and shuffled past him. “Just someone else looking for a handout,” I thought to myself.

Driving home my conscience began to toy with me. I remembered my grandfather walking me along a downtown sidewalk in the late 1940s. We came upon a veteran offering a similar red paper flower and grandfather produced a coin and bought me one from the vet.

Another View

Thursday, May 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Happy Mother’s Day

This coming Sunday, May 12, is Mother’s Day.

This is a day for all children, young and not-so-young, all across America to honor the woman who gave them love and guidance as they were growing.

According to History.com, celebrations of mothers and motherhood can be traced back to the ancient Greeks and Romans who held festivals to honor the mother goddesses Rhea and Cybele.

Mother’s Day arose in the 1900s due to the efforts of Anna Jarvis.

Her mom, Ann Reeves Jarvis, was a social activist during the Civil War era.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Thursday, May 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

I applaud all nurses

To the Editor:

Excellent Opinion article, “Cards Anyone?” in The Press papers written by Debbie Galbraith. Washington State Senator Maureen Walsh should be ashamed of herself for degrading such a noble profession of a nurse. Especially now that Monday, May 6, is Nurse Appreciation Day and the beginning of National Week of Nurse Appreciation.

I applaud all the nurses who have crossed my path, either in doctor offices or hospital settings. Never had nothing less than the best of care from any nurse who cared for me.

Jeanne Tilghman

Salisbury Township

Election Policy

Thursday, May 9, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the May 1 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Election Policy

Thursday, May 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the May 1 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Cards anyone?

Thursday, May 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

If you are in need of a deck of cards, contact Washington state Sen. Maureen Walsh. She has received hundreds of decks of cards in response to comments she made about nurses April 16.

While debating a bill proposing uninterrupted meal and rest breaks for nurses, as well as further protections against mandatory overtime, Walsh said nurses in Critical Access Hospitals with relatively few patients “probably do get breaks” and “probably play cards for a considerable amount of the day.”

This from a woman whose mother was a registered nurse.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

On-the-job training may produce valuable life lessons

Before it was a “thing” to do, my mother took me to work.

At the time, she worked for what was Pet Frozen Foods on Downyflake Lane in Allentown. In my childhood understanding of manufacturing, waffles were made there.

My mom had worked at Pet for several years on different shifts and was at the time on the overnight shift, which meant she was home in the afternoon when my siblings and I got home from school, a selling point, she said.

I am not really sure why she took me to work that day. It probably involved me asking repeatedly to go.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the May 1 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Another View

Thursday, April 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To celebrate Earth Day, what will you do to impact our world?

If you’re like me, you’re enjoying the warmer weather that comes with spring and anticipating the really warm days of summer. One thing I don’t enjoy is the buzzing I hear swarming around me when I’m outside at an event or playing with my son in the backyard. Although I have a fear of bees — I’ll save the traumatic childhood experience for another time — I know how important they are to plants, our environment and even the economy.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, April 11, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

College scam shows parents’ lack of faith in children’s own abilities

The court system is ably handling the parents involved in Operation Varsity Blues, and the man behind the scam to influence college admissions’ decisions at some prestigious American universities.

It’s now time to stop talking about those who’ve allegedly committed the crimes and start thinking about all those who’ve been negatively impacted by their actions.