Salisbury Press

Monday, November 19, 2018

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Is big data trending?

Cambridge Analytica is closing.

In May 2 headlines in the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, the firm announced plans to file for bankruptcy and, effectively shut down.

Cambridge Analytica recently was at the center of a political storm after revelations of its role in the 2016 U.S. presidential campaign and how big data harvested from social media can be used or misused.

Another view

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Taking a look back at the history of Mother’s Day

“My mom smiled at me. Her smile kind of hugged me.”

— “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio

As I sit down to start this another view piece on a Thursday when I’m not in the office, my 13-month-old son and I have already read five books, enjoyed breakfast and a snack, did a Target run, played with blocks, toys and a push cart and listened to the “Moana” soundtrack twice. I’ll throw in there a poopy diaper, too.

And it’s only 10:38 a.m. But this is a good morning — no mild temper tantrums … yet. (And I thought they didn’t start until 2 years old. My bad.)

Election Policy

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, have halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the April 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Writer supports Susan Wild for Congress

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Our country needs change. Desperately. Change in Washington, D.C.

The forces of gerrymandering and huge money in politics are stealing away our democracy.

In D.C., we need a U.S. House member who will work daily on issues important to the vast majority. One who will work to preserve Social Security and Medicare. One who will fight for our families, working people and the middle class.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Thanks to Ron Beitler and CEPTA

To the Editor:

Last night [April 17], I attended the Concerned East Penn Taxpayer debate for the 134th district state representative race between Ron Beitler and Ryan Mackenzie.

CEPTA has been hosting almost all local race debates since 1980. The problem was that Ryan Mackenzie did not show up for the debate even though his Harrisburg duties did not interfere with the event.

This is not the first time he has ducked a debate.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the April 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Be a donor — don’t take your organs to Heaven

“Be a rainbow in someone else’s cloud.”

— Maya Angelou

***

Every 10 minutes, a new name is added to the waiting list for an organ transplant. Nearly 115,000 names are on that list. Those names might be faces that are familiar to you or be complete strangers.

But as an organ donor, you have the ability to save eight of them. Just you. Eight lives.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Another view

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Sesame Place first theme park with autism certification

April is National Autism Awareness Month. There are many ways people spread awareness about Autism Spectrum Disorder, such as hosting special fundraisers, wearing blue or posting photos of the iconic colorful puzzle pieces.

On World Autism Awareness Day, which was April 2 this year, Sesame Place decided to kick it up a notch and announce it is officially designated as a Certified Autism Center.

The Bucks County children’s amusement park is the first theme park in the world to achieve CAC status.

Editor’s View

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

And, what will you do when spring finally arrives?

The brave daffodils are long peeking through the frozen ground. Although bent over, as if weeping, they remain defiant, blooming bright yellow despite nighttime and early morning below freezing temperatures.

Patches of short, blue flowers cover the ground where the grass has dared not to grow.

Twigs and branches lay scattered across the backyard, ripped from the trees during damaging winds that marked this past winter.