Salisbury Press

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Strive to embrace the small moments of life

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

It’s so easy to become consumed with the hustle and bustle of life — those “things” we believe to be important, meaningful and self sustaining.

It’s often in those times of uncertainty and crisis — whether unexpected or expected — that we begin to ask the wider universal questions related to life. What difference have I made? Who have I impacted? Have I tried to be kind and giving to another?

Article By: The Press

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Pennsylvania Dutch

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Der Baydawg is widder doe,

Un es glabbert yo so in der Kich;

Blendy arwet fer mich,

Welsh-hawna un lots funn socha,

Muss ich now ready

macha in der Kich;

Es is g’shpboss fer mich,

Kucha un feel boi,

Shtana shunt in ra roi In der Kich;

Oh, es shwitzed mich.

De kinner kumma ol hame,

Wil wetta se acta wider

es same in der Kich;

Ei, es lechered mich.

Eb mer essa, duhna mer bayda,

Shpater shwappa mer

resayda in der Kich;

A different kind of October Surprise

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

The news was big.

In an announcement on WCCO, television news reporter Esme Murphy intoned “It’s simply the right thing to do for the 15,000 people who work here. And it’s good business.”

The reason?

Mall of America, in Bloomington, Minn., a concern billing itself as “the largest retail and entertainment destination in North America,” would not open Thanksgiving Day 2016.

Election results in from Nov. 8 general election

Thursday, November 17, 2016 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

All election results were obtained from Lehigh County Voter Registration. These results are unofficial until certified by the Board of Elections.

President of the United States

Hillary Clinton/Tim Kane, Democratic, 77,087 votes, 50.37 percent

Donald Trump/Mike Pence, Republican, 70,285 votes, 45.93 percent

Darrell Castle/Scott Bradley, Constitution, 526 votes, .34 percent

Jill Stein/Ajamu Baraka, Green, 1,338 votes, .87 percent

Gary Johnson/Bill Weld, Libertarian, 3,795 votes, 2.48 percent

Total: 153,031 votes, 100 percent

Hillary Clinton and the double standard

Thursday, November 17, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor,

As Hillary Clinton campaigned toward becoming the first woman president of The United States of America, she constantly faced what we might call a “double standard.”

For instance, if she is photographed coughing, stumbling on stairs, and feeling wobbly from pneumonia at a commemorative event in subtropical sun, she is described as being too weak and unfit to serve as President. If she is haughty enough to name those who radically and blindly supported her Republican opponent “deplorables,” she is chastised and ridiculed.

Help save our wildlife; keep cats inside

Thursday, November 17, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

The pair were welcome regulars in our backyard. He wore scarlet and thus could be seen at once when I glanced out the kitchen window. His partner, never far away, wore a more subdued cloak and was harder to spot, but eventually I would find her. They were inseparable. Cardinals, I have read, mate for life.

Tragically, in an instant, and as I watched, he was alone in the world. A cat leaped over our 6-foot-high wooden fence and pounced. I ran out, yelling, but not in time.

Poll workers praised for steadfast service

Wednesday, November 9, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

By the time you read this, the incredibly emotional and polarizing election season will have concluded with Election Day. I am writing this Sunday night, two days before the election, not knowing the outcome.

I hope each and every one of you went to the polls to cast your votes Tuesday. When you did, you were greeted and assisted by a number of poll workers. These are your neighbors, residents of your borough or township, who work tirelessly twice a year to accurately record your votes.

They do not, I believe, deserve to be accused of attempting to rig an election.

Enough already: Counting down to Nov. 9

Saturday, November 5, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

We interrupt this program to bring you ... yet another campaign commercial.

Haven’t we seen enough? Don’t we already know every misstep each candidate has taken?

The good news: We have to endure these ads for just a few more days.

The bad news: It is expected they will hit a “fever pitch,” according to researchers, who believe the last-chance campaigning will invade your favorite radio station, your smartphone and even the movie screen at your local theater.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

You can have my heart ... but only if you are white

House Bill 30, proposed by state Rep. Joseph Petrarca, D-55th (Westmoreland, Armstrong and Indiana counties), should send chills down the spines of all residents of Pennsylvania, especially those parents and others who objected to Common Core teaching methods.

Petrarca’s bill, co-sponsored by 93 other state representatives, includes ideas from the Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness Project classroom toolkit, an initiative of the Pennsylvania Department of Education, for teaching students in the state.