Salisbury Press

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, March 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Wisdom in the age of dementia

Last week, former teen idol David Cassidy announced his dementia diagnosis.

According to media reports, the singer and television star, who once was the object of numerous fan clubs and had the ability to pack music venues with screaming tween and teenage girls, was struggling to remember lyrics to his songs while on tour.

Another view

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

We need to worry about climate change now, not later

“The climate is changing, it’s our fault and we got to get to work on this.”

— Bill Nye, scientist, in a video release for the documentary “Bill Nye the Science Guy”

“The Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.”

— Genesis 2:15

“If you besiege a town for a long time, making war against it in order to take it, you must not destroy its trees by wielding an ax against them. Although you may take food from them, you must not cut them down. Are trees in the field human beings that they should come under siege from you?”

For well-being, make the right move

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I am a person who doesn’t like change.

In our fast-changing world, that’s not a good way to be, I guess, but it’s the way I am.

Usually I don’t think about the subject much, but this past weekend three things happened that put the focus on change and got my attention.

A friend in New Jersey told me she is selling her home and car and moving to a continuing care retirement community.

Another friend, who, for financial reasons, had moved to a senior high-rise apartment and hated his new living arrangements, died.

No two couples are alike

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

One winter evening, I dropped in on a friend for a quick visit. A cozy fire glowed in the fireplace as my friend and her husband clad in their flannel jammies cuddled under a blanket on the love seat. They were watching one of their favorite TV shows together. Mugs of hot chocolate sat on their laps. After some conversation about the weather and our kids, I couldn’t help but comment on the way they were spending the evening. “Do you do this every night?” I asked kind of incredulously.

PSEA is the most powerful public employee union in the state

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I recently read about the Pennsylvania State Education Association union and its constant diatribe involving Betsy DeVos and Pat Toomey and it brought back memories from the time I served as a federal mediator in Ohio where that state, at that time, did not have their own mediation service so we feds did it for them.

‘We want our elections to be fair, our votes to count and our voices to be heard’

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

In response to the brave and angry letter of Regina Clark in last week’s East Penn Press, I heard you, Regina, and I support you. Senator Toomey is currently very comfortable with the extreme picks of Trump and why not?

Although Senator Toomey squeaked by in his two senatorial elections, for the next five years he can cruise. He can’t be bothered with the concerns of his constituents.

Travel ban shows White House ineptitude

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

President Donald Trump’s Jan. 27 executive order has led to some chaotic results that are making me nervous about our country’s new leader and his White House staff.

I am not surprised the order, which blocks admission to the United States by individuals from seven countries, was issued. After all, one of Trump’s campaign promises was to institute a policy of “extreme vetting” to keep the country safe from terrorists. We did not have to wait long for him to take the action. The executive order was signed just eight days after his inauguration.

Check out a charity before writing a check

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It seems everyone wants our money.

As the holiday season approached, my husband and I were inundated with mailings and telephone calls requesting donations for a multitude of charities, including quite a few unfamiliar to us.

I am sure some organizations we supported in the past sold their donor lists to similar organizations, and soon the pleas for help (along with calendars, address labels and greeting cards) began stacking up on my desk.

Even my late husband, gone over 25 years, received some appeals for money. Good luck with that!

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

‘We will not forget Toomey’s betrayal’

To the Editor:

Senator Pat Toomey’s constituents have spoken.

We’ve spoken so voluminously and so loudly that we’ve been unable to reach Toomey by phone or fax.

Today, I am dismayed at Toomey’s written response, in which he relays he will support Betsy DeVos for Secretary of Education despite the flooding of opposition to her from his constituents.

We see who Senator Toomey serves and it is not the people in his state, but the people with deep pockets: families like the DeVos family who have donated nearly $60,000 to his campaign.

Editor’s view

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Keep calm and …

How would you complete that statement today?

In the wake of a highly contentious election, and an equally stressful post-election season, people seem to be struggling to find their source of calm and healing.

Would you choose to pray or protest?

Do you find comfort in the company of like-minded citizens, even if they are complete strangers? Or, do you find yourself staying close to home and holding your loved ones just a little closer?

I would complete the above statement in two ways: Keep calm and stay educated. And keep calm and journal.