Salisbury Press

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Media coverage of Pearl Harbor brings back memories of war horrors retold

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Watching televised news reports and human interest stories this past week on the 75th anniversary of the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, Dec. 7, 1941, immediately brought back memories of the many late nights my mother and I spent holding and listening to my father cry at the kitchen table.

My dad enlisted in the U.S. Navy at the age of 20 following the attack. He served aboard the USS Monitor, a landing ship vehicle-5, crossing the equator on Oct. 11, 1944.

‘Trucks are killing three of our residents a week...’

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Dear Editor:

I am writing this letter to you as a concerned citizen of the Lehigh Valley.

I was moved to type my thoughts as the result of the continuing tragedies we are seeing on our roads, most of which are a result of unbridled development in our area.

Not only are we losing our open spaces all over our beautiful valley, but we are also seeing the increase of needless deaths as the result of our crowded highways.

Veterans honor ‘lives lost,’ remember ‘days of infamy’

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by TERRY AHNER in Opinion

Looking back on this country’s history, there are many parallels that can be drawn between the Pearl Harbor Day attack and the 9/11 attacks.

So said Keith “Jake” Boyer, a U.S. Air Force veteran and retired school superintendent, who spoke during a recent Pearl Harbor Day program at the World War II Memorial on Sgt. Stanley Hoffman Boulevard, Lehighton.

Don’t let thieves ruin your holiday spirit

Thursday, December 8, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa are joyous and festive times.

Whether you are busy baking, decorating your home or shopping for that perfect gift, the holiday shopping season went into full swing on Black Friday.

Thieves are also out shopping for that perfect gift. But instead of in stores, they are “shopping” your vehicle, front porch or inside your home.

Some history is absent from textbooks, classrooms

Thursday, December 8, 2016 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Last week I discovered history in a packet of letters my mother had kept since World War II.

The timing was perfect. Just when our nation’s brave men and women who served in the military were being honored and celebrated on Veterans Day, I was immersed in the innocent musings of a young soldier who paid the ultimate price for his service.

Robert was killed in action in France at the age of 22.

He and I share DNA. He was an uncle I never got to meet.

One of eight children, Robert was closest in age to his younger sister, my mother.

Thank you to our generous readers

Thursday, December 1, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Many families have someone serving in the military who will not be home this season to celebrate with loved ones.

These individuals are currently serving our country in Kuwait, Afghanistan, Iraq and many other countries around the world. They volunteered to protect and serve our country.

Thanks to the generosity of The Press readers, businesses, fire companies, clubs and others, military personnel will have something to smile about this Christmas.

Strive to embrace the small moments of life

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

It’s so easy to become consumed with the hustle and bustle of life — those “things” we believe to be important, meaningful and self sustaining.

It’s often in those times of uncertainty and crisis — whether unexpected or expected — that we begin to ask the wider universal questions related to life. What difference have I made? Who have I impacted? Have I tried to be kind and giving to another?

Article By: The Press

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Pennsylvania Dutch

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Der Baydawg is widder doe,

Un es glabbert yo so in der Kich;

Blendy arwet fer mich,

Welsh-hawna un lots funn socha,

Muss ich now ready

macha in der Kich;

Es is g’shpboss fer mich,

Kucha un feel boi,

Shtana shunt in ra roi In der Kich;

Oh, es shwitzed mich.

De kinner kumma ol hame,

Wil wetta se acta wider

es same in der Kich;

Ei, es lechered mich.

Eb mer essa, duhna mer bayda,

Shpater shwappa mer

resayda in der Kich;