Salisbury Press

Sunday, August 20, 2017

A different kind of October Surprise

Tuesday, November 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

The news was big.

In an announcement on WCCO, television news reporter Esme Murphy intoned “It’s simply the right thing to do for the 15,000 people who work here. And it’s good business.”

The reason?

Mall of America, in Bloomington, Minn., a concern billing itself as “the largest retail and entertainment destination in North America,” would not open Thanksgiving Day 2016.

Election results in from Nov. 8 general election

Thursday, November 17, 2016 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

All election results were obtained from Lehigh County Voter Registration. These results are unofficial until certified by the Board of Elections.

President of the United States

Hillary Clinton/Tim Kane, Democratic, 77,087 votes, 50.37 percent

Donald Trump/Mike Pence, Republican, 70,285 votes, 45.93 percent

Darrell Castle/Scott Bradley, Constitution, 526 votes, .34 percent

Jill Stein/Ajamu Baraka, Green, 1,338 votes, .87 percent

Gary Johnson/Bill Weld, Libertarian, 3,795 votes, 2.48 percent

Total: 153,031 votes, 100 percent

Hillary Clinton and the double standard

Thursday, November 17, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor,

As Hillary Clinton campaigned toward becoming the first woman president of The United States of America, she constantly faced what we might call a “double standard.”

For instance, if she is photographed coughing, stumbling on stairs, and feeling wobbly from pneumonia at a commemorative event in subtropical sun, she is described as being too weak and unfit to serve as President. If she is haughty enough to name those who radically and blindly supported her Republican opponent “deplorables,” she is chastised and ridiculed.

Help save our wildlife; keep cats inside

Thursday, November 17, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

The pair were welcome regulars in our backyard. He wore scarlet and thus could be seen at once when I glanced out the kitchen window. His partner, never far away, wore a more subdued cloak and was harder to spot, but eventually I would find her. They were inseparable. Cardinals, I have read, mate for life.

Tragically, in an instant, and as I watched, he was alone in the world. A cat leaped over our 6-foot-high wooden fence and pounced. I ran out, yelling, but not in time.

Poll workers praised for steadfast service

Wednesday, November 9, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

By the time you read this, the incredibly emotional and polarizing election season will have concluded with Election Day. I am writing this Sunday night, two days before the election, not knowing the outcome.

I hope each and every one of you went to the polls to cast your votes Tuesday. When you did, you were greeted and assisted by a number of poll workers. These are your neighbors, residents of your borough or township, who work tirelessly twice a year to accurately record your votes.

They do not, I believe, deserve to be accused of attempting to rig an election.

Enough already: Counting down to Nov. 9

Saturday, November 5, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

We interrupt this program to bring you ... yet another campaign commercial.

Haven’t we seen enough? Don’t we already know every misstep each candidate has taken?

The good news: We have to endure these ads for just a few more days.

The bad news: It is expected they will hit a “fever pitch,” according to researchers, who believe the last-chance campaigning will invade your favorite radio station, your smartphone and even the movie screen at your local theater.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

You can have my heart ... but only if you are white

House Bill 30, proposed by state Rep. Joseph Petrarca, D-55th (Westmoreland, Armstrong and Indiana counties), should send chills down the spines of all residents of Pennsylvania, especially those parents and others who objected to Common Core teaching methods.

Petrarca’s bill, co-sponsored by 93 other state representatives, includes ideas from the Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness Project classroom toolkit, an initiative of the Pennsylvania Department of Education, for teaching students in the state.

A message to candidates, readers

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

Coroners protest organ donor bill

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by JARRAD HEDES in Opinion

Who gets the first crack at a dead person’s organs?

That is one of the current hot topics during state House of Representative sessions in Harrisburg.

According to the Pennsylvania State Coroner’s Association, House Bill 30 would “drastically change” the rules under which organs are donated after death.

“Right now, when someone dies, we get the body first so that if we need to do an autopsy as part of an investigation, we can do that,” Bob Miller, Carbon County coroner said. “The liver and kidneys, in particular, are very important for toxicology purposes.

A message to candidates, readers

Thursday, October 20, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith