Salisbury Press

Sunday, June 25, 2017

A message to candidates, readers

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

Coroners protest organ donor bill

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by JARRAD HEDES in Opinion

Who gets the first crack at a dead person’s organs?

That is one of the current hot topics during state House of Representative sessions in Harrisburg.

According to the Pennsylvania State Coroner’s Association, House Bill 30 would “drastically change” the rules under which organs are donated after death.

“Right now, when someone dies, we get the body first so that if we need to do an autopsy as part of an investigation, we can do that,” Bob Miller, Carbon County coroner said. “The liver and kidneys, in particular, are very important for toxicology purposes.

A message to candidates, readers

Thursday, October 20, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

A message to candidates, readers

Wednesday, October 12, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

This month, it’s all about the breasts

Wednesday, October 12, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

If this kind of talk makes you uncomfortable, please don’t continue reading.

If you knew of a way to potentially save the life of a woman you love, would you share the information?

According to breastcancer.org, about one in eight women in the United States will develop invasive breast cancer in her lifetime.

In 2016, an estimated 246,660 new cases of invasive breast cancer are expected to be diagnosed in women, along with 61,000 new cases of non-invasive (in situ) breast cancer.

A message to candidates, readers

Thursday, October 6, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

Reading your local paper is ‘Way to Know’ your community

Thursday, October 6, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Several years ago cyberspace was frenzied over many popular websites going dark for 24 hours to protest a federal bill meant to crack down on video piracy.

The Stop Online Piracy Act – or SOPA – was a controversial and perhaps misguided effort championed by the Motion Picture Association of America to end illegal online sharing of copyrighted material, primarily movies and music.

Could Crutcher’s death have ended differently?

Thursday, September 29, 2016 by STACEY KOCH in Opinion

Which movement are you with — Black Lives Matter ... All Lives Matter ... Blue Lives Matter? I have friends who relate to each of them. It seems like siding with one of these three movements is becoming like the political party affiliation on your voter registration card.

Me? I understand all points made and their validations. Are there black individuals who are shot and killed when the situation could have been de-escalated and not have ended in a fatality? Definitely. Is the killing of officers to revenge the deaths of those black people okay? Absolutely not.