Salisbury Press

Thursday, July 19, 2018

ON THE HOMEFRONT

Thursday, December 7, 2017 by DENISE CONTINENZA PENN STATE EXTENSION in Opinion

Resilience: the art of bouncing back

Sometimes I ask my adult children questions and really fear the answers. There is something about that kind of suspense, I suppose. So I did it again this summer when we were all together.

“What was the worst thing I ever did as a parent?” I asked them.

They responded all too quickly. Worse than that, all three of them had the same answer.

“You sent us to that after-school program when all our friends were able to go home,” they declared almost in unison.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Tuesday, November 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Children can remind us of the importance of being thankful

When you want to see the good through the bad, when you want to truly experience positivity in a world of judgment and negativity, always talk to a child.

Kids have this amazing sense of optimism. Their untainted outlook on life can be a refreshing reminder that there is good in this world.

another view

Wednesday, November 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Snapchat — Fun or dangerous?

Snapchat is a quickly growing social media platform which allows people to send pictures or short videos, called snaps, to friends. The most popular feature is that these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear. It’s great for people like me who insist their pets are the cutest but don’t want to inundate Facebook and Instagram with cat pictures for fear of being a bother. Instead, I just take a quick photo of my kittens, send it to a few interested friends and then it’s gone.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Friday, November 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The gift that keeps giving must be the right fit

If you have ever loved and lost a pet, you will understand my family’s hesitation in getting another pet.

I’ve written about my pets before — a 16-1/2-year-old Old English Sheepdog and an indoor shelter cat we had for more than 16 years. Both pets died recently within six months of each other. We have been in mourning.

My editorials in the past have been about understanding the responsibilities of pet ownership before acquiring a pet for yourself or as a gift for someone else.

Another View

Thursday, November 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Thank a veteran and his or her family members, too

President Donald Trump recently proclaimed November 2017 as National Veterans and Military Families Month.

Veterans Day, Nov. 11, is the time American people nationally thank veterans for their courage, sacrifices and years of service.

Trump’s proclamation begins: “During National Veterans and Military Families Month, we honor the significant contributions made by American service members, their families and their loved ones.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The business of Halloween is big, $9.1 million BIG

When did purple become a Halloween color? And, for that matter, what about green?

Purple may be the harder to pinpoint. But green? The easy answer is when Halloween became such big business.

According to statistics from the National Retail Federation and Prosper Insights & Analytics released in September, U.S. residents are expected to spend a record-breaking $9.1 billion on Halloween this year.

And that total is up a little over eight percent from 2016 when sales touched $8.3 billion, also a record.

Another view

Tuesday, October 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The debate of birth control medication needs to end

Talk to any woman you know, and there’s a good chance she has used birth control medication at some point in her life.

In fact, according to a December 2014 Center for Disease Control and Prevention article on a National Survey of Family Growth study, 2011-13, “61.7 percent of the 60.9 million women aged 15-44 in the United States were currently using contraception.”

Editor’s View

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Judge Edward Smith’s decision on Lehigh County seal is a lemon

The secular zealots who originally challenged Lehigh County’s official seal in 2015 will not be happy until all symbols of Christianity are removed from public view.

The Freedom From Religion Foundation in Wisconsin, which supported four Lehigh Valley members’ efforts to have the Latin cross in the center of the county seal removed, must be smiling smugly after a federal judge’s decision Sept. 28.

U.S. District Court Judge Edward Smith upheld the group’s viewpoint — well, sort of — that the Latin cross should not be part of the county government’s official seal.