Salisbury Press

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Letter to the editor

Thursday, January 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Minimum requirements for politicians should be established

To the Editor:

I believe we need to establish minimum requirements for our elected politicians and hold them accountable for each item listed.

•All politicians should be held to term limits.

•They should be required to attend a minimum 95 percent of scheduled voting of legislatures.

•If they fail to meet the 95 percent bench mark, their compensation is adjusted and forfeited accordingly to the percentage shortfall (this includes salary, pensions, medical insurances, expenses etc.).

Adaptive reuse is a strategy to preserve our history

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Years ago, before I knew what the buildings even were I remember driving past the former Allentown State Hospital and doing a double take. I pulled onto the campus and took a walk. The stately grounds and handsome buildings were stunning. A character and quality that doesn’t get built anymore. The hospital is now slated for demolition.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Because the boys watching today will be the men of tomorrow’

Have you seen the new Gillette commercial geared toward men that addresses bullying, toxic masculinity, sexual harassment and the #MeToo movement?

The commercial, which debuted Jan. 14 on social media, shows boys fighting while adults look on, saying “boys will be boys,” instances of bullying, clips of sexual harassment and more while the narrator asks, “Is this the best a man can get?”

The narrator continues by saying, “Something has changed and there is no going back,” while showing news clips of current events of sexual harassment and more.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons of compassion taught on a famous street

Dear reader:

I am concerned about Lily.

Last month Sesame Street, the beloved children’s program responsible for lessons on topics such as numbers, letters and rubber duckies, revealed to online viewers one of its cast members, a deep fuchsia plush muppet with long hair named Lily, was dealing with homelessness.

Lily, who is described as about 7 years old, and her family lost their apartment and moved in with Lily’s teacher and friend Miss Sofia.

Another View

Thursday, January 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Early-morning ER trip Christmas Day

My husband, Joe, and I went to bed Christmas Eve filled with anticipation. We couldn’t wait for our 21-month-old son, Benjamin, to wake up Christmas morning to see what presents Santa had left on the living room floor next to the fireplace. We knew this Christmas would be even more exciting than last year’s holiday since Ben is older, very playful and understands better.

I wasn’t too worried about how Ben’s voice sounded Christmas Eve after dinner and while putting him to bed. I remember thinking to myself, ‘Darn — he’s getting a cold for the holidays.’

Guest View

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s give the cold shoulder to song’s critics

I am sure you have heard the ruckus raised in early December 2018 when several radio stations and Canadian broadcaster CBC Radio decided to ban the traditional Christmastime song “Baby, It’s Cold Outside,” one of the more outlandish offshoots of the #MeToo movement.

After numerous complaints of censorship, including a highly visible campaign by Star Trek star William Shatner, CBC restored the song to its Christmas lineup, as did two of the four radio stations that initiated the ban.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, January 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The healing power of pets

Before Christmas, my family committed to all staying home one night to watch holiday movies together.

As the time neared for the first film to begin, we found our pets had gathered in the living room as well, taking up a good portion of the couches. This is not an exaggeration. We have three dogs — and despite their alleged thinking, none of them is a true lap dog.

This happens pretty often. It’s not unusual to see one of us walk in the room, pause when we see the shortage of comfortable seating and choose to find a spot on the floor instead of moving a napping pet.

Another view

Friday, December 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Handcrafted Christmas gifts are made from the heart

Christmas is a time of giving and love. For many, the giving has overpowered the love and hidden the true meaning of the season.

During Christmas, we give gifts to show our loved ones we appreciate them and love having them in our lives. This is why we give. However, with events like Black Friday and Cyber Monday, we, as a society, tend to focus on buying the best new gadgets or getting a great price on those expensive toys. We focus more on what we are buying and not why. The expectation is to buy more and more each year and to continually up the ante.