Salisbury Press

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Another View

Wednesday, January 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A resolution worth keeping

New Year's resolutions come and go.

Often they are short-lived, typically lasting no longer than a few days to a few weeks.

What should each of us resolve to do this coming year? What should each of us hope for and wish for this new year?

Throughout our communities are family members and neighbors who may be in need or want.

There are those inside our own workplaces, school, churches and communities who are hurting and in need of an ear, shoulder, hand and heart.

Furry friends need your help

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Neighbors, it is the time of year when we all get together with family and friends. Can you imagine what it would be like if you had none and no one wanted you? It is not a happy thought at all.

I'm writing to tell you about "Forgotten Felines and Fidos."

They are a nonprofit, no-kill shelter near New Tripoli and they sure could use your help.

It is particularly difficult to run a shelter like this because if the animals are not adopted, they are kept there for their lifetimes. They also provide spay/neutering services for very reasonable fees.

Thankful for all first responders

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

The proposed budget cuts to eliminate standby firefighter crews and jeopardize the current level of fire protection/emergency response from the Emmaus Fire Department was thankfully defeated at the recent Emmaus Borough Council meeting.

In light of the Newtown, Conn. school tragedy and other life events, now is the time to remember, affirm, thank and support all emergency service first responders, individual unsung heros, teachers, compassionate caregivers and volunteers who daily give their lives for others.

Letters to the editor

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The real root cause of these tragedies

To the Editor:

We just returned from a trip off the mainland and hadn't seen any news the past two weeks, so when Sam, my husband, turned on the TV early this morning we were really shocked and heartsick to hear of the Connecticut child slaying.

It is beyond being able to describe the anguish and sadness to the families and also others who hurt for them, and can't do anything to alleviate this grief for them.

How to help prevent this from happening over and over in this country – it isn't gun control.

We get one chance to do it right

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

"You only live once," a friend who smoked and drank to excess since his teens would respond when I'd chide him about his body abuse.

Right. So since we get only one shot at life as we know it, shouldn't we try to make it last?

Today, as this friend lies terminally ill, far beyond medical repair, he has regrets.

But it's too late. His 62-year-old body has given up.

His sad situation reminds me of another friend who died at 50, the victim of lung cancer.

Another View

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

When you have to go in ice and snow …

The cool air of winter is now upon us and it is time to make sure we are all prepared for the season.

Most of us probably wish we could snuggle up by a fire with a good book but commutes and travel do not stop because the flurries begin to fall.

Do a routine winter check of your vehicle to ensure you are prepared for anything Mother Nature throws at you.

Check your vehicle's fluid levels and be sure to fill up with a deicing windshield wiper fluid. Make sure your wipers do not streak and think about installing new winter blades.

Editor's view

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

The heroes among us

Many of us attended church on Sunday; I'm not sure if it was because of the upcoming Christmas holiday or the overwhelming need to pray for the families affected by the shooting in Connecticut Dec. 14.

Sermons throughout our area were focused on trying to make sense of this event as well as trying to cope with the overwhelming grief all Americans feel, especially so close to the joyous season of Christmas.

Letter to the editor Showing kindness to Sandy Hook Elementary School

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Even with the magnitude of Friday's events, we can let residents of Newtown, Conn., know we are thinking about them and holding them in healing thoughts.

The children and families of their community are forever changed.

I would love to show support to the school from towns all over our area.

Have the children and/or adults in your family create artwork for the students of Sandy Hook. Even young children can contribute without knowing anything other than they are drawling a picture for other children to "cheer them up" or "make them smile."

KidsPeace offers assistance to parents in wake of school shooting

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Many parents have been asking for guidance on how to talk to their children about the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting and understand the short and long term impact of the events.

Jodi S. W. Campbell, MS, KidsPeace leader of the critical incident response team, assistant director of organizational development and training, shared with The Press tips for parents to help children in the wake of a large scale tragedy such as this.