Salisbury Press

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Ryan Mackenzie is a breath of fresh air

To the Editor:

As a recent high school graduate, I'm told to prepare for my future: study hard, find an internship, make connections and pursue your dreams. This isn't always easy, especially in a world where so many look out for only themselves. I've been fortunate, however, to meet Ryan Mackenzie.

We hear about Ryan's work to reform government and help constituents, but these only begin to show the kind of person we have as our state representative.

Another View

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

National Fire Prevention Week, Oct. 7-13 Take time to thank a firefighter

This past Thursday, I turned on the car radio in time to catch a news broadcast about a house fire in Salisbury Township.

Volunteer firefighters from Eastern Salisbury, Western Salisbury, Fountain Hill, Se-Wy-Co and Emmaus fire departments were called out from the warmth of their homes to fight a 2 a.m. fire in the 1400 block of Lehigh Avenue.

Over the years of their volunteer service, firefighters have missed many family meals and important events because they needed to fight a fire or rescue someone from a lake, hiking trail or motor vehicle following an accident.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

AMERICA ON WHEELS, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to assist in the museum's gift shop to help customers with merchandise and take admissions from visitors. Contact Amy Gunshannon at 610-432-4200, ext. 14 or agunshannon@ americaonwheels.org.

CAMELOT FOR CHILDREN, Emmaus, has monthly activities Friday evenings and Sunday afternoons for teens and children and needs volunteers to help. Contact Cassies Kemmere at 610-791-5683 or cassiek@camelotforchildren.org.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

letter to the editor

Wednesday, October 3, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Resident deserved appointment

To the Editor:

It's a sad day when pettiness denies a committed citizen an appointment to a Lower Macungie Township volunteer service committee.

Ron Beitler has excellent leadership skills and would be a fine addition to any township committee. It seems the big egos of the majority of the Lower Macungie Township Board of Commissioners are easily pricked. They exhibit disdain for anyone who disagrees with their actions. Actions that have been consistently questionable.

Editor's View Homelessness in the Lehigh Valley

Wednesday, October 3, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

It doesn't just happen on television

Often while I am working, I have the television on and if it is a Sunday night, I will usually be listening to "60 Minutes."

One recent episode on homelessness caused me to stop working and watch the entire segment from start to finish.

The interviewer spotlighted three families who were homeless in Florida. One family consisted of a young unemployed father and his two children who lived in a box truck.

His wife, the children's mother, had died and the father was unable to find a job in the construction industry.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, October 3, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.