Salisbury Press

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Another View

Friday, December 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Keep loved ones, pets safe from fire this holiday season

Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, a meal, sing, decorate and exchange gifts.

The holiday season can be especially difficult if a fire were to break out in a home and kill a loved one.

According to local media, a body of one man was found following a fire in Whitehall; a second fire recently displaced nine people and killed a dog.

The body of a man, approximately 50, was found after a fire occurred around 10 p.m. Dec. 7 at Spring Ridge Apartments, 1308 N. 13th St., Whitehall Township.

Editor’s View

Friday, December 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Making Christmas memories

“And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn.

And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid.

And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.

Editor’s View

Thursday, December 6, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Decluttering is good for our health and happiness

Thank you all who commented on my Oct. 17 Editor’s View on dealing with our Generation Y, Z and millennial family members.

It is good to know I am not alone in my frustration with our younger generation not wanting “things” – instead, wanting experiences.

Since that Editor’s View, conversations have continued with the fact our children and grandchildren will not want our “things” when we are gone.

I am a person who sees the value of and appreciates the connection with “things” from my grandparents, which my youngest has already said he does not want.

That chronic chest cold may be more than you think

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The nasty cycle repeated itself for decades.

Verna, a public school teacher, would suffer a serious bout of bronchitis.

A week of antibiotics knocked out the infection enough that she would feel ready to return to the classroom.

Two weeks later the bronchitis was back.

So were the antibiotics.

After repeated bronchial infections year after year, she finally sought the opinion of a pulmonary specialist.

In-depth testing and a CT scan showed she had bronchiectasis, a lung condition that results in respiratory damage.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

When the snow is glistening in the lane, be prepared

You know it is bad when a tweet like this appears in your feed.

“Statewide PENNDOT update. Speed Restrictions. The speed limit has been reduced to 45 mph throughout PA.”

Twitter users received that message Nov. 15 from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation when a powerful snowstorm blasted into the state.

Drivers experienced the pounding weather firsthand.

Area roadways went from snow dusted to covered to dangerously slippery in what seemed like a flash.

Roads and highways closed.

Another View

Tuesday, November 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering our blessings in these uncertain times

Thank goodness. It is finally Thanksgiving, and Christmas is right around the corner. That means it is publicly acceptable for me to watch the holiday movie “Miracle on 34th Street.” (I may or may not have started to watch this film before Halloween. Don’t ask my husband.)

Editor’s View

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

REAL ID — here’s what you need to know

A few months ago, two postcards were delivered to my mailbox. They were sent by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and addressed to my daughters.

The subject of the mailing was “Important Information from PennDOT About REAL ID.” According to the postcards, because their very first driver’s licenses were issued after September 2003, PennDOT might have all the information required for a REAL ID and they might be able to avoid going to a driver’s license center.

Another View

Thursday, November 8, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering why we celebrate

Veterans Day celebrates all who served our country honorably in both war and peace.

According to the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Day was originally called Armistice Day and observed the anniversary of the end of World War I, Nov. 11, 1919. This day has continued as a celebration of those who served our country. It was declared a national holiday in 1938, and the name change became official in 1954.

Armistice Day was made a national holiday “to be dedicated to the cause of world peace,” according to the USDVA.

Editor’s View

Thursday, November 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The monsters among us

The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference. Because of indifference, one dies before one actually dies. To be in the window and watch people being sent to concentration camps or being attacked in the street and do nothing, that’s being dead. (Elie Wiesel, Holocaust survivor, U.S. News & World Report, Oct. 27, 1986)

Look to your left. Look to your right. Look behind you and in front of you.

‘There is absolutely no justification for such an act...’

Thursday, November 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

The Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley is deeply shocked at the horrific incident of mass shooting at Tree of Life Synagogue in Pittsburgh. There is absolutely no justification for such an act in any religion. We offer our heartfelt condolences to the families of those killed or injured. Our prayers are with all those that are affected by these senseless atrocities.