Salisbury Press

Saturday, December 16, 2017

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

‘We will not forget Toomey’s betrayal’

To the Editor:

Senator Pat Toomey’s constituents have spoken.

We’ve spoken so voluminously and so loudly that we’ve been unable to reach Toomey by phone or fax.

Today, I am dismayed at Toomey’s written response, in which he relays he will support Betsy DeVos for Secretary of Education despite the flooding of opposition to her from his constituents.

We see who Senator Toomey serves and it is not the people in his state, but the people with deep pockets: families like the DeVos family who have donated nearly $60,000 to his campaign.

Editor’s view

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Keep calm and …

How would you complete that statement today?

In the wake of a highly contentious election, and an equally stressful post-election season, people seem to be struggling to find their source of calm and healing.

Would you choose to pray or protest?

Do you find comfort in the company of like-minded citizens, even if they are complete strangers? Or, do you find yourself staying close to home and holding your loved ones just a little closer?

I would complete the above statement in two ways: Keep calm and stay educated. And keep calm and journal.

Guest view Music to a parent’s ears

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

There are some words that just make my day. “How did you survive raising me?!” is a question that is truly music to my ears.

My oldest son called me one morning to say he was absolutely exhausted from dealing with his 5-year-old. I smiled. You see, Dan was my challenging child. He went on to tell me how Jackson insisted upon dressing like a pirate for preschool that day. They tried everything under the sun to convince him it was not appropriate to wear a costume to school in December, but Jackson persisted. I smiled even more.

Editor’s View

Thursday, February 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

And you thought things were going to be different

The name and political party of an American president or, for that matter, the leader of any country are unimportant.

Blind and uncompromising bureaucracy is the true ruler, and the individual is unimportant in a land governed by laws lacking in common sense.

From young children in wheelchairs groped by TSA agents at airport screenings to the homeowner whose property is seized through eminent domain, the “good” of the country or political subdivision rises above humanity.

Not an acrobat’s daughter but a one-time elephant rider

Tuesday, January 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Circus is folding the big top.

In an announcement on its website, declines in ticket sales and “the transition of elephants off the road” were cited by Kenneth Feld, chief executive of Feld Entertainment, current owner of the 140-plus-year-old entertainment institution, as among factors making the circus an “unsustainable business.”

Various media outlets announced the closing of the circus in top-of-the-hour roundups Jan. 15.

Working to improve stroke care in Pennsylvania

Tuesday, January 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Strokes are the fifth leading cause of death in the United States and they are the leading cause of serious long-term disability. However, the quicker a person receives appropriate treatment for a stroke, the better the outcome can be in terms of survival and reduced long-term complications and disability.

In order to provide the best care in Pennsylvania for those who suffer a stroke, I have introduced legislation that will help direct stroke victims to the appropriate hospital to treat their type of stroke.

Media coverage of Pearl Harbor brings back memories of war horrors retold

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Watching televised news reports and human interest stories this past week on the 75th anniversary of the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, Dec. 7, 1941, immediately brought back memories of the many late nights my mother and I spent holding and listening to my father cry at the kitchen table.

My dad enlisted in the U.S. Navy at the age of 20 following the attack. He served aboard the USS Monitor, a landing ship vehicle-5, crossing the equator on Oct. 11, 1944.

‘Trucks are killing three of our residents a week...’

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Dear Editor:

I am writing this letter to you as a concerned citizen of the Lehigh Valley.

I was moved to type my thoughts as the result of the continuing tragedies we are seeing on our roads, most of which are a result of unbridled development in our area.

Not only are we losing our open spaces all over our beautiful valley, but we are also seeing the increase of needless deaths as the result of our crowded highways.