Salisbury Press

Friday, October 19, 2018

Editor’s View

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Reset for 2018 by choosing your word carefully

How’s the New Year’s resolution coming along? Not so great, you say?

You’re not alone.

This is about the time the frustration sets in and the giving up begins, according to researchers.

Approximately 50 percent of the population makes a resolution to start the new year. Jan. 1 signifies a new beginning. We start the year with super hero-sized powers to do things differently than the year before. There’s a special kind of energy that comes with a chance for change.

Guest view

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Existence of your local newspaper at stake

The viability of local newspapers, including the one that you are reading now, is being challenged by the proposed newspaper tariff on the import of uncoated groundwood paper from Canada — the type that is used to print this newspaper and others across Pennsylvania.

Senator Toomey’s response to President Trump’s remarks ‘cowardly and spineless’

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Another day, another opportunity for Senator Toomey to show us his true colors.

In response to President Trump’s blatantly racist remarks about immigrants from Africa and Haiti, Senator Toomey produced yet another cowardly and spineless response.

Rather than outright condemn President Trump’s remarks, as anyone with some integrity would do, Senator Toomey writes how he “hopes” the President will retract the statements “attributed to him” about countries of which “he was accused of describing disparagingly.”

Another view

Wednesday, January 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Feminism and the ‘glass ceiling’ ‘

On Jan. 10, 1878, the amendment granting women the right to vote was first proposed. This right wasn’t permitted for women until the passing of the 19th Amendment Aug. 18, 1920. I know there is a lengthy process for such changes, but 42 years seems excessive.

It’s worth noting Merriam-Webster’s 2017 word of the year is “feminism.”

Guest View

Wednesday, January 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Nourishing the family

If you want to know how many items come up when you enter “manure” in the search box on the Penn State Extension home page, the answer is 61.

That is just between the various agricultural programs that provide education to farmers and growers. Really, there should be more.

Manure is a “nice” word or technical term for something else we also call fertilizer. But let’s face it — even in family relationships, sometimes things can get pretty ... well, you know.

Editor’s View

Thursday, January 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

My New Year’s wish for 2018

Dess Alt Yohr is now fer-bei; wos now aw-fongt is yoh gons nei.

Mier leava un mier wolda, fom Neia biss tzu’m Alta. Darrich feel Ongsht un Druvvel; darrich Tzittera un darrich Farricht. Darrich Grieg un grossa Schrecka; dess dutt de gons Welt be-decka.

The old year is gone; what is now beginning is all new.

We live through much fear and trouble; through nervousness and through fright; through war and through terror this covers the whole world and we leave this to the disposition of God from the new to the old.

Another View

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Kids bullying kids’ needs to stop

My heart sunk recently when I read a couple of news stories about two young girls killing themselves after enduring weeks of bullying at their schools.

In the first news story dated Nov. 30 and titled “Aurora 10-year-old takes her own life after suspected bullying incident caught on camera” by Ashley Michels from Fox 31 in Denver, Colo., Ashawnty Davis, a fifth grader, hung herself after she was allegedly seen defending herself in a bullying incident caught on video and posted to the app Musical.ly.

Santa answers readers’ questions

Thursday, December 21, 2017 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

We asked Santa Claus questions from some of our youngest readers who responded to our request on our Facebook page. What follows are the questions and Santa’s answers.

Q. What is your favorite cookie?

A. Chocolate chip.

Q. What is your favorite Christmas movie?

A. The Santa Clause, Santa Clause 2 and Santa Clause 3.

Q. Is it hard to convince the reindeer to fly?

A. No, not at all. That’s what the magic dust is for.

Q. Do you know how many children there are in the world?

Editor’s View

Thursday, December 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering those we lost during this holiday season

Many of our readers have been following the Guest Views written by former editorial assistant and freelance writer/photographer Mark Reccek documenting his battle with cancer.

Although a very private person, Mark felt it was important to share his journey with the readers and the many friends he had acquired through his work at The Press.

On Dec. 17, Mark lost the fight.

Mark was well-educated with multiple degrees, one being a law degree. He was studying to take the bar exam to become a lawyer to represent those who could not represent themselves.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, December 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Casting a not-so-wide network

Last week, when headlines announced devastating news such as sexual harassment and misconduct scandals, wildfires in California, ongoing problems in North Korea, train crashes in Germany and other events, a front page story in the “Wall Street Journal” offered readers a moment for surprise: details of the Rolodex of one-percenter David Rockefeller.