Salisbury Press

Sunday, August 20, 2017

A message to candidates, readers

Wednesday, October 12, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

This month, it’s all about the breasts

Wednesday, October 12, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

If this kind of talk makes you uncomfortable, please don’t continue reading.

If you knew of a way to potentially save the life of a woman you love, would you share the information?

According to breastcancer.org, about one in eight women in the United States will develop invasive breast cancer in her lifetime.

In 2016, an estimated 246,660 new cases of invasive breast cancer are expected to be diagnosed in women, along with 61,000 new cases of non-invasive (in situ) breast cancer.

A message to candidates, readers

Thursday, October 6, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

Reading your local paper is ‘Way to Know’ your community

Thursday, October 6, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Several years ago cyberspace was frenzied over many popular websites going dark for 24 hours to protest a federal bill meant to crack down on video piracy.

The Stop Online Piracy Act – or SOPA – was a controversial and perhaps misguided effort championed by the Motion Picture Association of America to end illegal online sharing of copyrighted material, primarily movies and music.

Could Crutcher’s death have ended differently?

Thursday, September 29, 2016 by STACEY KOCH in Opinion

Which movement are you with — Black Lives Matter ... All Lives Matter ... Blue Lives Matter? I have friends who relate to each of them. It seems like siding with one of these three movements is becoming like the political party affiliation on your voter registration card.

Me? I understand all points made and their validations. Are there black individuals who are shot and killed when the situation could have been de-escalated and not have ended in a fatality? Definitely. Is the killing of officers to revenge the deaths of those black people okay? Absolutely not.

Give and you shall receive

Wednesday, September 21, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

When I was a child, I dragged my feet when it was time to clean up my bedroom on Saturday mornings, but somehow I loved the good feeling I experienced when helping my girlfriend clean hers. Volunteering kind of feels like that.

We are so fortunate to live in a country where most of us have a roof over our heads and food in our stomachs.

Most of us have leisure time during our weeks and the physical ability to be useful to others. In our gratitude for the lives we live, how can we not want to reach out and share our good fortune?

Being prepared must be part of who we are

Thursday, September 15, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we paused to acknowledge the 15th anniversary Sunday of the Sept. 11 attacks on the United States and honored those who lost their lives that day, we also likely spent a few moments recalling where we were that morning when news stations first reported a plane had hit the World Trade Center.

I was here in the Press office, working with the rest of the staff on deadline. I had dropped my children at their day care school about an hour earlier. The day started like any other.