Salisbury Press

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

another VIEW

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Who are the voters?

Who are the voters across the Lehigh Valley the candidates will attempt to appeal to from now until Nov. 6?

Whether your political affiliation is associated with the color red or blue, we all share one common desire: we want the candidate we vote for to best represent our interests and the well-being of America.

Today, the political discourse among elected officials and those running for public office is contentious and rancorous.

Couple that with an unsteady and unpredictable economy each of us wrestle with daily.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Check your beneficiaries on your policies

To the Editor:

At the Oct. 11 meeting of the American Legion Post 191, the subject of beneficiaries on life insurance policies issued by the U.S. government for service in the military was discussed.

One veteran reported he recently reviewed his policy and did not realize the last time he recorded his wishes was in 1986 and the contingent beneficiary was no longer correct.

The American Legion suggests all veterans review their life insurance policies to be sure they have designated the correct principal and contingent beneficiaries.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Ryan Mackenzie is a breath of fresh air

To the Editor:

As a recent high school graduate, I'm told to prepare for my future: study hard, find an internship, make connections and pursue your dreams. This isn't always easy, especially in a world where so many look out for only themselves. I've been fortunate, however, to meet Ryan Mackenzie.

We hear about Ryan's work to reform government and help constituents, but these only begin to show the kind of person we have as our state representative.

Another View

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

National Fire Prevention Week, Oct. 7-13 Take time to thank a firefighter

This past Thursday, I turned on the car radio in time to catch a news broadcast about a house fire in Salisbury Township.

Volunteer firefighters from Eastern Salisbury, Western Salisbury, Fountain Hill, Se-Wy-Co and Emmaus fire departments were called out from the warmth of their homes to fight a 2 a.m. fire in the 1400 block of Lehigh Avenue.

Over the years of their volunteer service, firefighters have missed many family meals and important events because they needed to fight a fire or rescue someone from a lake, hiking trail or motor vehicle following an accident.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

AMERICA ON WHEELS, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to assist in the museum's gift shop to help customers with merchandise and take admissions from visitors. Contact Amy Gunshannon at 610-432-4200, ext. 14 or agunshannon@ americaonwheels.org.

CAMELOT FOR CHILDREN, Emmaus, has monthly activities Friday evenings and Sunday afternoons for teens and children and needs volunteers to help. Contact Cassies Kemmere at 610-791-5683 or cassiek@camelotforchildren.org.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.