Salisbury Press

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, February 13, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports FF&F spay/neuter program

To The Editor:

I am writing regarding Debbie Galbraith's article [Editor's View page A10 East Penn Press, Salisbury Press] on the ASPCA commercials published Jan. 17.

I liked what you reported about the ASPCA, but I am somewhat dissappointed you did not mention Forgotten Felines and Fidos shelter in your list of local animal organizations.

They have resided in Germansville, Heidelberg Township since 2000 and have a lot of cats for adoption, provide low-cost spay/neuter and desperately need volunteers.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR Writers say editorial is grossly insenstive and offensive

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

We have subscribed to the East Penn Press (and possibly its forerunners) since we moved here in '84, largely because we felt it was important to support our local community. But over the past year or so, we have become more and more concerned about the vitriolic right wing editorials that appear under the byline of Deb Palmieri.

She is of course, entitled to her opinions, but I find those opinions to be outrageously FAR far right wing, and often personally disturbing. Professionally, I find them to be oddly out of place in a small town newspaper.

Another view

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The Super (commercial) Bowl: Sunday night entertainment

It was Super Bowl Sunday, and I was home alone. With my husband out of town, Sunday evening was all mine to do as I wished. I was looking forward to having complete command of the TV remote.

I started the evening watching a recorded episode of "Downton Abbey," the current Masterpiece Classic series.

When 6:30 p.m. rolled around, the episode had just ended and I surfed the TV listings for quite awhile. In the end, finding nothing else of interest to watch, I decided to turn on the Super Bowl game after all, but not really to watch the game.

Letters to the editor Writer supports Second Amendment right to bear arms

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

At what cost does freedom come? And what are we willing to pay to keep it?

We generally delegate that duty to our armed forces against outside enemies.

Did we ever think the day would come when we would pay a price to have to stand up against the enemy of our freedom coming from our own elected officials?

The latest attempt from our liberal government to chip away at our Second Amendment right to bear arms has resulted in the shut down of the Eastern Sports and Outdoor Show scheduled for Feb. 2 to 10.

SCHLOSSBERG REPORTS Schlossberg assails Gov. Corbett's liquor plan

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

By State Rep. Mike Schlossberg, D-132nd

Special to The Press

Gov. Tom Corbett's proposed privatization of state liquor stores is another example of governance by ideology, not reality.

Liquor sales generate $500 million worth of yearly state revenue. But, at a time when the state budget is already thin on revenue, this governor seeks to divest an important asset and set the stage for increased school taxes.

In an attempt to sell his plan, Corbett proposes to make education the beneficiary of proceeds from the sale of liquor stores.

ALBURTIS FIRE DEPARTMENT Remembering 'Siggie'

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 by LORETTA FENSTERMACHER Special to The Press in Opinion

On Jan. 22, Alburtis began mourning the loss of another luminary in the borough when Paul Seigfried Jr. passed away at age 79.

Seigfried was born in Alburtis, grew up and married Barbara (Epting) and remained a lifetime resident of Alburtis. He was called "Siggie" by fellow firefighters and friends.

He was an Army veteran, Alburtis firefighter and currently Alburtis Borough's Emergency Management Agency coordinator, but Seigfried's life of dedication to others does not end there.

Editor's View

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable

U.S. Constitution Amendment II: "A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed."

The Founding Fathers of this country lived under the tyranny of the monarchy of King George III of England.

The social and political changes in the 13 colonies leading to the American War of Independence, (1775-1782) put an end to that autocratic rule.

Nathan Brown declares candidacy for Lehigh County Commissioner

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Emmaus resident, Nathan Brown, 35, announces his candidacy for the Republican nomination to the Board of Lehigh County Commissioners in District 5.

Brown has been married to his wife, Liz, for 12 years and has two daughters, Hailee and Bethany.

Brown's full-time employment is as a life safety equipment installer and project manager for government entities, commercial and industrial buildings.

As a proud community servant, Brown has served on Emmaus Borough Council for the past six years and is chair of Community Relations and Development.

Cordner to run for mayor of Macungie

Wednesday, January 30, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Borough resident Gary Cordner is announcing his intention to run for mayor of Macungie.

Cordner has lived in the borough for five years with his wife AnnMarie and daughter Lera.

He is a professor in the Department of Criminal Justice at Kutztown University and serves on the Borough's Civil Service Commission. He was Macungie's Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator from 2010 to 2012 and served on the Vestry at St. Anne's Episcopal Church in Trexlertown 2009 to 2012, including senior warden in 2012.