Salisbury Press

Friday, November 16, 2018

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, October 24, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

What happened in Libya should not be politicized to gain political points

To the Editor:

As the mother of a foreign service officer and State Department diplomat, I was astonished when Governor Romney hit the airways politicizing the tragic death of Ambassador Chris Stevens and three other brave Americans in Libya. The Republicans are blaming the administration for lack of security. Ambassadors are expected to interact with the citizens of the country they serve and Chris Stevens did so with complete confidence in his relationship with the Libyan people.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, October 24, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

EDITOR'S VIEW

Wednesday, October 24, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Is photo identification worth the cost to Pennsylvania voters?

In 1907, Samuel Adams wrote about the right to vote.

"Let each citizen remember at the moment he is offering his vote that he is not making a present or a compliment to please an individualor at least that he ought not so to do; but that he is executing one of the most solemn trusts in human society for which he is accountable to God and his country."

When State Rep. Daryl Metcalf, R-12th, Butler County, decided to introduce legislation to require voter identification in March 2011, the ability to vote in Pennsylvania came into question.

Editor's View

Wednesday, October 24, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Photo identification: Is voting less important than clearing a stuffy nose?

"... Sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your name, and they're always glad you came ... You wanna be where everybody knows your name ..." ("Cheers" theme song "Where Everybody Knows Your Name" by Gary Portnoy and Judy Hart Angelo)

There once was a time in this country when a man's word was his bond and children were told by their parents not to bring shame upon the family name.

Doors were left unlocked and youngsters played outside freely and unsupervised.

NATIONAL NEWSPAPER WEEK

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Your newspaper will be there for you

A simple statement, but let's break it down a bit.

Your newspaper … That's right, all yours, assembled just for you, tailored to where you live, emphasizing the things that affect you, keeping track of the people and players in your community. Your newspaper is put together by people in a newsroom that was built for you, where people work to supply information that matters to you, from the details of that crash you passed by on Tuesday to biographies of the candidates for your school board to notices of what's on sale at your local supermarket.

another VIEW

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Who are the voters?

Who are the voters across the Lehigh Valley the candidates will attempt to appeal to from now until Nov. 6?

Whether your political affiliation is associated with the color red or blue, we all share one common desire: we want the candidate we vote for to best represent our interests and the well-being of America.

Today, the political discourse among elected officials and those running for public office is contentious and rancorous.

Couple that with an unsteady and unpredictable economy each of us wrestle with daily.

ElectionPolicy

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 general election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letter to the editor

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Check your beneficiaries on your policies

To the Editor:

At the Oct. 11 meeting of the American Legion Post 191, the subject of beneficiaries on life insurance policies issued by the U.S. government for service in the military was discussed.

One veteran reported he recently reviewed his policy and did not realize the last time he recorded his wishes was in 1986 and the contingent beneficiary was no longer correct.

The American Legion suggests all veterans review their life insurance policies to be sure they have designated the correct principal and contingent beneficiaries.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Ryan Mackenzie is a breath of fresh air

To the Editor:

As a recent high school graduate, I'm told to prepare for my future: study hard, find an internship, make connections and pursue your dreams. This isn't always easy, especially in a world where so many look out for only themselves. I've been fortunate, however, to meet Ryan Mackenzie.

We hear about Ryan's work to reform government and help constituents, but these only begin to show the kind of person we have as our state representative.