Salisbury Press

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Poll workers praised for steadfast service

Wednesday, November 9, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

By the time you read this, the incredibly emotional and polarizing election season will have concluded with Election Day. I am writing this Sunday night, two days before the election, not knowing the outcome.

I hope each and every one of you went to the polls to cast your votes Tuesday. When you did, you were greeted and assisted by a number of poll workers. These are your neighbors, residents of your borough or township, who work tirelessly twice a year to accurately record your votes.

They do not, I believe, deserve to be accused of attempting to rig an election.

Enough already: Counting down to Nov. 9

Saturday, November 5, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

We interrupt this program to bring you ... yet another campaign commercial.

Haven’t we seen enough? Don’t we already know every misstep each candidate has taken?

The good news: We have to endure these ads for just a few more days.

The bad news: It is expected they will hit a “fever pitch,” according to researchers, who believe the last-chance campaigning will invade your favorite radio station, your smartphone and even the movie screen at your local theater.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

You can have my heart ... but only if you are white

House Bill 30, proposed by state Rep. Joseph Petrarca, D-55th (Westmoreland, Armstrong and Indiana counties), should send chills down the spines of all residents of Pennsylvania, especially those parents and others who objected to Common Core teaching methods.

Petrarca’s bill, co-sponsored by 93 other state representatives, includes ideas from the Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness Project classroom toolkit, an initiative of the Pennsylvania Department of Education, for teaching students in the state.

A message to candidates, readers

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

Coroners protest organ donor bill

Thursday, October 27, 2016 by JARRAD HEDES in Opinion

Who gets the first crack at a dead person’s organs?

That is one of the current hot topics during state House of Representative sessions in Harrisburg.

According to the Pennsylvania State Coroner’s Association, House Bill 30 would “drastically change” the rules under which organs are donated after death.

“Right now, when someone dies, we get the body first so that if we need to do an autopsy as part of an investigation, we can do that,” Bob Miller, Carbon County coroner said. “The liver and kidneys, in particular, are very important for toxicology purposes.

A message to candidates, readers

Thursday, October 20, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

A message to candidates, readers

Wednesday, October 12, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, has halted the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

This month, it’s all about the breasts

Wednesday, October 12, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

If this kind of talk makes you uncomfortable, please don’t continue reading.

If you knew of a way to potentially save the life of a woman you love, would you share the information?

According to breastcancer.org, about one in eight women in the United States will develop invasive breast cancer in her lifetime.

In 2016, an estimated 246,660 new cases of invasive breast cancer are expected to be diagnosed in women, along with 61,000 new cases of non-invasive (in situ) breast cancer.

A message to candidates, readers

Thursday, October 6, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith