Salisbury Press

Sunday, August 20, 2017

A message to candidates, readers

Thursday, September 15, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 8 General Election, the East Penn Press and the Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate need to be received by The Press by 5 p.m. Oct. 21.

Debra Galbraith

Will Obamacare survive its latest challenge?

Tuesday, August 30, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Millions of Americans rely on Obamacare for health insurance since President Barack Obama signed it into law March 23, 2010.

Officially known as the Affordable Care Act, Obamacare has progressed over the years — but not without challenges.

In the beginning, the ACA saw some opposition from lawmakers in Washington, D.C., in an effort to overturn or repeal the 1,000-page health care plan since it was unveiled in July 2009.

In 2011, a Florida judge ruled portions of the ACA were unconstitutional.

Controlling clutter can bring you joy

Thursday, August 25, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Last week, I noticed a large, black garbage bag on the floor in a back corner of my bedroom closet. Opening it, I found seven pairs of my shoes, apparently stashed out of sight by my husband.

At first, I was annoyed with him for having hidden some of my footwear, apparently in an effort to make more room for a stack of his collectibles.

Then, looking at the shoes in the bag, I saw a cute pair of sandals I only seemed to be able to wear on days I would not be doing much walking.

A special thank you offered to Chief Palmer and law enforcement individuals

Thursday, August 25, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I would personally like to thank the officials that were a part of the first annual legacy ride with SuSu Williams, the victim of an accident involving a local garbage truck.

The fallen rider’s daughter Andrea BorBoa coordinated a motorcycle run starting at the Emmaus Fire Co #1 then taking a scenic ride out to the Wagon Wheel Tavern in Quakertown and back to the Emmaus Community Park for a picnic.

A cloudy day clears on Sesame Street

Thursday, August 18, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

The bad news came late last month. The services of Bob, Luis and Gordon would no longer be needed at the hallowed address of Sesame Street.

Actors Bob McGrath, Emilio Delgado and Roscoe Orman were let go, according to news headlines.

HBO, the new television neighborhood in which Sesame Street is now found, was blamed by some. Fans of children’s television, particularly those of a certain age, were disappointed and many took to social media and fan sites to express dismay.

ANOTHER VIEW

Tuesday, August 9, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Chaotic election season obscures compassion for others

To say the least, it has been an interesting election season.

It is even more interesting for people my age, as this will be the first year we get to vote in a general election. Come November, one of these two qualified candidates-- Hillary Clinton (Democrat) and Donald Trump (Republican) will be voted into office (if you can even call them “qualified”).

Guest View

Tuesday, August 9, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

The job of parenting never ends

I used to tell parents in my workshops their job as a parent is to become unemployed.

Wow — did I ever lie.

Parenting is not a job you ever leave.

You can’t get fired; you can’t quit. And you certainly never get furloughed.

No matter how hard you try, once you bring a child into the world, your world is never quite the same.

So now I tell people that as a parent, over time your job description changes.

As a matter of fact, depending on the ages of your children, you might be fulfilling two or more job descriptions at the same time.

Could the glass ceiling finally be broken?

Friday, August 5, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

It’s not history. It’s “herstory.” Hillary Clinton officially accepted her party’s nomination July 28 during the Democratic National Convention, becoming the first female candidate for a major political party for the U.S. presidency.

Clinton’s monumental moment has stemmed from hundreds of years of monumental moments in life.

For instance, one of my personal favorites, Anne Bradstreet was the first American woman to have her volume of poetry, “The Tenth Muse Lately Sprung Up in America,” published in 1650.

Helping children cope with these unsettling times

Tuesday, July 26, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

I worry about the children growing up in this nation during this time of uncertainty.

One cannot turn on the television today without hearing about shooting deaths and name-calling ads or events by the presidential candidates and their staff members.

As much as parents and grandparents try to shelter children from this negativity, I’m convinced the young ones still hear some of what is said on television or the Internet, even if they are in the other room playing.

Seeing red on the Pennsylvania Turnpike

Thursday, July 21, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Drivers on the Pennsylvania Turnpike are likely seeing red — and a lot of it.

Last weekend, my family packed the car and set out for a vacation at the beach. The first leg of our trip was the turnpike’s Northeast Extension. As the front-seat passenger, I had plenty of time to take in the sights.

The first thing I noticed, and continued to notice, was a lot of red. Brake lights.

Ugh. How could there be so much traffic already this morning? I wondered. Must be an accident.

I was wrong on both counts.