Salisbury Press

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

LETTERs TO THE EDITOR

Friday, October 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Marty Nothstein is the ‘political outsider’ we urgently need to represent the 7th District

Dear Editor,

Marty Nothstein is a champion; a gold medal cyclist in the 2000 Olympic Games.

As a person, he has internalized the discipline, hard work, hardship and rigorous resolve that are fundamental in the success and victory for achieving one’s goals in life.

All of these attributes aside, Nothstein has also succeeded as a leader at the nonprofit Valley Preferred Cycling Center, wherein he distinguished himself improving the organization’s finances and expanding its community outreach goals.

Writer says she is voting for Pinsley

Friday, October 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I believe Mark Pinsley is the best choice for Pennsylvania Senate in the 16th District.

Pinsley is a fresh face in a chamber that has become too entrenched with incumbents who don’t act in the best interest of we, the people.

It is our time now to vote these elected officials out and replace them with a new class that will work for us. Pinsley is just the one to do that.

Pinsley has served both his country and community.

Another View

Friday, October 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Hurricane Michael survivors need our help

One of the most powerful storms to hit the United States slammed into the Florida panhandle as a Category 4 hurricane on Oct. 10 before moving on to Georgia, the Carolinas and Virginia.

After the storm hit, I was glued to the television to watch live news broadcasts on the destruction of Hurricane Michael.

As I watched TV the next day, one Weather Channel broadcast on the aftermath of Hurricane Michael touched me emotionally.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Retain 100 acres of the Weiner Tract for a park

To the Editor:

The commissioners of Lower Macungie Township should be commended for purchasing the Wiener Tract on Sauerkraut Lane and Brookside Road for farming.

Unfortunately our commissioners plan to sell easements on the entire tract to defray part of the purchase price.

Selling farmland easements prohibits all use except farming. A better option which I suggested to our commissioners last month, is to retain 100 acres along the stream for a park at a later date. This land would be contiguous with the present township recreational land.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the end of bar soap and more

This is not an obituary.

Nor is it a political commentary.

This Editor’s View mourns the death of things I and many others grew up with, including bar soap and top sheets.

Yes, that’s right. According to a recent news article, Generation Z individuals born between 1995 and 2010 and millennials born between 1981 and 1996 are changing the world as we know it — for those individuals have stated they no longer use bar soap, only liquid soap.

And, they don’t use top sheets.

Top sheets? Will a sheet set soon only come with a fitted sheet and pillowcases?

ELECTION POLICY

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 6 General Election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by or about those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the Oct. 10 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

ELECTION POLICY

Thursday, October 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

As we approach the Nov. 6 General Election, the East Penn Press and Salisbury Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by or about those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 10 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

National Newspaper Week, Oct. 7-13

Thursday, October 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘Life is full of emotion. We cover the journey.’

Newspapers explore many of the topics that affect your senses.

The stories we report may get your blood rushing, wrinkle your brow, inspire you to call a friend about an event or simply entice you to relax and read about your favorite team that pulled out a victory destined to be a loss.

We cover the hard stuff. As curious watchdogs who investigate and report the truth, we are sometimes taken down any number of roads that may not be very popular.