Salisbury Press

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Could the glass ceiling finally be broken?

Friday, August 5, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

It’s not history. It’s “herstory.” Hillary Clinton officially accepted her party’s nomination July 28 during the Democratic National Convention, becoming the first female candidate for a major political party for the U.S. presidency.

Clinton’s monumental moment has stemmed from hundreds of years of monumental moments in life.

For instance, one of my personal favorites, Anne Bradstreet was the first American woman to have her volume of poetry, “The Tenth Muse Lately Sprung Up in America,” published in 1650.

Helping children cope with these unsettling times

Tuesday, July 26, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

I worry about the children growing up in this nation during this time of uncertainty.

One cannot turn on the television today without hearing about shooting deaths and name-calling ads or events by the presidential candidates and their staff members.

As much as parents and grandparents try to shelter children from this negativity, I’m convinced the young ones still hear some of what is said on television or the Internet, even if they are in the other room playing.

Seeing red on the Pennsylvania Turnpike

Thursday, July 21, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Drivers on the Pennsylvania Turnpike are likely seeing red — and a lot of it.

Last weekend, my family packed the car and set out for a vacation at the beach. The first leg of our trip was the turnpike’s Northeast Extension. As the front-seat passenger, I had plenty of time to take in the sights.

The first thing I noticed, and continued to notice, was a lot of red. Brake lights.

Ugh. How could there be so much traffic already this morning? I wondered. Must be an accident.

I was wrong on both counts.

Cops are people, too

Thursday, July 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

There are bad cops. There are bad doctors.

And, yes, there are even bad newspaper editors.

All are subject to the same human frailties as everyone else.

Good police officers need to have a quiet strength, an abundance of patience and tolerance, plus a sense of humor to deal with some of the foolishness they see everyday as they try to keep the peace within their communities.

Unfortunately, a few police officers may suffer from one or more of the Seven Deadly Sins.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Thursday, July 14, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Seven Generations Charter School needs reorganizing

To the Editor:

As a founding parent with a middle school student, I would like to clarify a few unpublished facts; there are several founding members who are in agreement that the decision to stop putting Band-Aids on our current inefficient system and reevaluate and reorganize the middle school is a necessary action.

Our excelling Seven Gen elementary school students, who wish to continue on at Seven Gen, need a middle school with consistent stability.

A once joyous venue now

Thursday, July 7, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

I’ve always been a big fan of concerts. There’s something about their energy and spontaneity that often doesn’t come across when listening to an album. You feel like anything can happen.

As a student attending University of Central Florida in Orlando, there’s no shortage of things to do.

Being a big city, Orlando is virtually limitless when it comes to recreational activities, such as mini golfing, water sporting events, college sports and, the college student’s No. 1 choice for fun, clubbing.

Stay safe this Fourth of July

Thursday, June 30, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Fourth of July is a day when many Americans gather with family and friends to enjoy picnics and barbecues and to watch fireworks displays.

Tragedy, however, can often spoil the fun of watching fireworks when a loved one is injured or a fire is sparked by fireworks.

This past week, fireworks sparked a small fire during a display at the Schnecksville Fair.

Dr. Alex Rosenau, senior vice chair of emergency medicine with Lehigh Valley Health Network, spoke with The Press June 27 about common injuries caused by commonly sold fireworks.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, June 30, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

The underlying concepts of freedom do not change

To the Editor:

In her Op-Ed piece “It is time to replace the Second Amendment” Linda Wojciechowski argues that, “it’s time to recognize that in 1791, when that Constitutional amendment was passed into law, our Founding Fathers were living in a very different world with a very different notion of what a citizen might have available to arm himself or herself with.”

Common sense, not extreme restrictions on Americans, needed to battle terrorists

Wednesday, June 22, 2016 by The Press in Opinion

Guns are scary. Guns, in the hands of the wrong people, are dangerous.

Guns, however, do not kill people unless a round is discharged by a living, breathing human being, or possibly when mishandled, such as being dropped.

In her Another View, Linda Wojciechowski advocates repealing the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution as a way to prevent massacres such as those in the Orlando, Fla., nightclub.

She mentions times, such as the abolition of slavery and giving women voting rights, when the Constitution was amended.