Salisbury Press

Monday, December 16, 2019

Local resident announces candidacy for Upper Milford Township supervisor

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Republican James R. Krippe has announced he is running to become an Upper Milford Township supervisor.

Krippe has been a resident of Upper Milford Township for over 22 years. He retired two years ago after working over 40 years in the construction industry.

Krippe said he has attended 90 percent of the Upper Milford Township Supervisor meetings in the past three years and has voiced concerns several times on issues and expenditures.

On the Homefront

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by DENISE CONTINENZA Special to The Press in Opinion

Parental involvement means involvement

As often as possible, I stop what I am doing on a Saturday evening to watch the latest episode of "Too Cute" on the Animal Planet channel.

Last weekend I managed to catch the show. I took a break from loading the dishwasher, flopped into the recliner and began viewing a program about three sets of kittens.

Baby animals are indeed too cute as they get into all sorts of mischief and predicaments while exploring their environment and pursuing the quest for independence.

Editor's View

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Pope Francis, the embodiment of power and humility

As I finished the pages for this week's Parkland Press early Tuesday morning, I had one eye and ear cast in the direction of the television.

Pope Francis was being installed as the new Bishop of Rome; the spiritual leader of some 1.2 billion Roman Catholics worldwide and the head of state of the Vatican.

Such power and authority could easily turn the head of many a man.

Former Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio of Argentina, however, does not appear to be one of those men.

Republican Commissioner to seek re-election in Lower Macungie

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Republican Lower Macungie Commissioner Ryan Conrad announced he is seeking re-election to a second term after a decisive victory as the highest vote-getter in his first election in 2009.

Conrad currently serves as vice president of the board. He also announced the launch of his campaign website, www.ConradForCommissioner.com.

Trevor Schneck announces candidacy for Emmaus Borough Council

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 by CONTRIBUTED ARTICLE in Opinion

Trevor Schneck, 33, a lifelong resident of Emmaus and a graduate of the Emmaus High School class of 1998, is announcing his candidacy for Emmaus Borough Council. Schneck is co-owner of Bar None Weddings & Entertainment and resides in Emmaus with his wife Amanda where they own a home and are raising their two children, Peyton and Brady.

"I'm running for council because Emmaus is my hometown. It's where I grew up and where I've chosen to maintain my roots and raise my family, I'm deeply invested in our community."

Another View

Wednesday, March 13, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A life lived for others is a life worth living

What's important in this journey we are all on called life?

Is it our job titles and the power and respect attached to our professions, careers and employment pursuits that make a difference?

Or, does the salary we receive, cars we drive and the apartments and homes we live in factor in determining our worth and our happiness?

Recently a friend's father passed away. He was, in more ways than one, a mentor of mine and a father figure.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 13, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Addresses not exempt when seeking 911 response logs

While the legal battle over release of public-school employee home addresses has continued to rage in Pennsylvania's appellate courts, another aspect of the home address debate is settled.

In Czech v. County of York, a unanimous panel of the Commonwealth Court clarified the parameters of the Right-to-Know Law's exemption for 911 records and information, holding that the law does not exempt address information from "time response logs."

Another View

Wednesday, March 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

America's hungry need your help

I am not a moviegoer, however, this weekend while surfing the Web, I came across a documentary "A Place at the Table."

The documentary, which features actor Jeff Bridges, examines the issue of hunger in America through the eyes of three families in Philadelphia, Colorado and Mississippi.

My mother, Dorothy, 84, offered her comments after watching the movie.

"It's [hunger] bad here at home," she said. "You do not have to worry about going to another country to see it."

She is right.